Edgy Beauty and Tattoos 0611

The Homo Depot

The Homo Depot

There are a lot of photographers who primarily shoot models trained to pose on sterile backgrounds with studio lighting.  The girls may look perfect, but the photos are boring.  My approach is to shoot real people in their surroundings, either quickly posed or candid on the street.  These photographs were made on Gay Pride Day 2012 in Houston, Texas.  Due to the extreme heat and humidity found in Houston at the end of June, normal fashion for outdoor events is on the skimpy side.

49 responses

  1. And again… great photos!
    Wish the weather was like that over here, but I heard next week will be better… ;)

    Like

    June 26, 2013 at 9:07 am

    • Erica, be careful what you wish for, the high today will be 37C with high humidity. Our heat index will be around 42C. That is steamy.

      Like

      June 26, 2013 at 9:25 am

      • Give us a little bit!!!
        Over here it feels and looks like autumn already or still set in… It’s no summer and no fun at all!
        So, if you could send some over then it will be less hot over at your place and more hot over here. ;)

        Like

        June 26, 2013 at 10:56 am

        • I wish I could do that. Can you send us some rain?

          Like

          June 26, 2013 at 11:23 am

        • I will try, but I don’t know if it works. I will do the best I can and maybe even do a little raindance for you… ;)

          Like

          June 26, 2013 at 12:50 pm

        • I could wash my car.

          Like

          June 26, 2013 at 1:04 pm

        • Could you wash mine as well? Ah well, you needn’t, it’s going to rain soon any way… ;)

          Like

          June 26, 2013 at 1:08 pm

        • Could you wash mine as well? Ah well, you needn’t, it’s going to rain soon any way… ;)

          Like

          June 26, 2013 at 1:08 pm

        • No rain in the forecast here until Monday.

          Like

          June 26, 2013 at 1:12 pm

        • By then we get some better temperatures the weatherman promissed… ;)

          Like

          June 26, 2013 at 1:17 pm

  2. sir, i love your photos and how you catch life as it happens. my hats off to you and all the great photos you take as you live life

    Like

    June 26, 2013 at 9:16 am

  3. sexy

    Like

    June 26, 2013 at 9:57 am

  4. Imagine that – REAL people can be beautiful too!

    Like

    June 26, 2013 at 10:14 am

  5. Beautiful people! :)

    Like

    June 26, 2013 at 10:58 am

  6. Don’t forget to go outside. The Internet can suck up your time

    Like

    June 26, 2013 at 12:39 pm

  7. pdlyons

    cool shots. like the candid streets and sceens of your travels. enjoy direct real shots without the technobable. all the best.

    Like

    June 26, 2013 at 2:07 pm

  8. great shots as always…I like that you shoot “normal” people…that is what makes your photos interesting!

    Like

    June 26, 2013 at 4:35 pm

    • Well, these people are only sort of normal. What is normal anyway?

      Like

      June 26, 2013 at 8:00 pm

      • lol…what I meant was you aren’t taking shots of “model” types…instead you choose to photograph those you see on the street, or at functions, venues, etc., authentic, real, natural, people…

        Like

        June 26, 2013 at 9:27 pm

        • There is no way I am going to chase after models. Either it is $50 for a workshop or some pita cooperative deal. Let someone else do that. Besides, everything has to be perfect and I like a little grunge.

          Like

          June 26, 2013 at 9:36 pm

        • why would you when you capture awesome candid shots??? Perfect is over rated… :)

          Like

          June 27, 2013 at 8:10 am

        • Perfect is alway 15 pounds away, or 7 kilos, or one stone, or something like that.

          Like

          June 27, 2013 at 8:12 am

  9. Love it, this is my kind of summer wardrobe….great candid shots!

    Like

    June 26, 2013 at 7:51 pm

    • Thank you D Anna. It gets really hot around here, Heat factors over 110F are common. Mass consumption of water is the rule.

      Like

      June 26, 2013 at 8:01 pm

  10. Edgy beauty at its finest. Your photos are captivating. I get lost in them. Congrats on photography at its finest!

    Like

    June 26, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    • Thank you. Please stay lost here for as long as possible, there is no charge.

      Like

      June 26, 2013 at 9:24 pm

      • I will continue to lose myself on your Blog. Having chronic pain I have found many natural ways to take the pain away even if it is for a few minutes. I have found that losing myself in your photography takes the pain away if only for a few minutes – it’s breathtaking photography!

        Like

        June 26, 2013 at 9:56 pm

        • Good deal. Narcotic pain pills are not good for you. Try rhythmic breathing. I use that to get to sleep. It works better than half a bottle of wine.

          Like

          June 26, 2013 at 10:01 pm

        • I have just started doing rhythmic breathing – I LOVE it! It works for me!

          Like

          June 26, 2013 at 10:19 pm

        • Great!

          Like

          June 27, 2013 at 2:46 am

  11. It’s not a party until someone shows up in a rainbow tutu. Fun shots.

    Like

    February 18, 2014 at 8:40 am

  12. I can’t help but crack up at all the weather comments. At first I thought I was on the wrong post when I went to comment here. We have beautiful sunny weather here too! And lots of tattoos in SF, except none on me! :P

    Like

    February 18, 2014 at 9:36 am

    • I a not the world’s best creative writer, so I give the weather report. The day those photos were shot, it was probably 100F and 70% humidity.

      Like

      February 18, 2014 at 9:59 am

  13. Cool shots, Ron :)

    Like

    February 18, 2014 at 10:41 am

  14. Hi Ron – I’m not complaining, not complaining at all. But I was wondering why your street captures of people seem to focus primarily on females, women, girls – often beautiful girls. Hey, I’m not complaining though. Can’t get enough of ‘em. I’m just curious, that’s all. Lots and lots of females. Not complaining, no, not one little bit. You’ll get no complaints from me if you photograph and post nothing else but girls for the rest of your life. I love ‘em.

    Like

    February 18, 2014 at 12:28 pm

  15. Nice. I especial like the Homo Depot one. Maybe I am biased because of the play on the name. I sort of agree with David above. You do like to shoot females. But I have thought this one over: I think it it because you genuinely like women. Because overall, your pictures are “empathic,” not exploitive, if that makes any sense.

    Like

    February 18, 2014 at 2:44 pm

    • Long time no see, Hollis. These are from a while back and I am shooting more men now. But when I did the series of artists in their studios last week women outnumbered men significantly in that population, so that is what I found. I am happy that you find the images to be empathic, rather than exploitive (or objectifying).

      Like

      February 18, 2014 at 4:56 pm

      • Yep I do. I had a death in my family four days before Christmas. I have not been able to post officially yet. But am getting back into it by commenting on all my “old” followers. I will be back soon!!!! (Posting that is)

        Like

        February 18, 2014 at 9:38 pm

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,215 other followers