Via Colori Street Festival

Guest Artist

Guest Artist

Via Colori is a street art even held at Sam Houston Park in downtown Houston every November.  Each artist brings their own pastels and is assigned a spot on the pavement to create a large size work of art.    The last three photos are from the Art Crawl later that day.  It takes place in the Nance Street warehouse district North of downtown Houston.  The man with tattoos is a fan of the Houston Astros.  The lady is a photographer who often serves as her own model, but usually leaving her head off.  In the final image some enterprising types set up a barbecue smoker and were selling food and beverages.

26 responses

  1. I wish we had an art culture like this, I love it, and thanks for sharing!

    September 22, 2013 at 11:42 am

  2. I love seeing people create their own art, so fascinating.

    September 22, 2013 at 11:52 am

  3. I wish I was as talented as those artists. Great pics.

    September 22, 2013 at 12:07 pm

  4. Reblogged this on tothetable.

    September 22, 2013 at 12:36 pm

  5. She is really getting into her work, literally!
    Nice to see someone wearing their work with pride….

    September 22, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    • She was back last year, but I don’t know if we will see her in 2013.

      September 22, 2013 at 12:47 pm

  6. My favorite is Guest Artist. What a great event. :)

    September 22, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    • Thank you. That lady definitely has character.

      September 22, 2013 at 3:33 pm

  7. I love when people draw with chalk or pastels in the street. We use to have a man around here that would do beautiful religious artwork with chalk and every week there was a new piece. I loved it. There is another man that does it with sand like a sand castle only he does the face of Jesus and things like that. It’s so sad though when the art washes away. You captured it.

    September 22, 2013 at 3:51 pm

    • Thank you. This event is usually the weekend before Thanksgiving, so it’s not so far off.

      September 22, 2013 at 3:53 pm

  8. LB

    You find the coolest, most interesting festivals and street scenes. I need to get to Houston some day!

    September 22, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    • Right now is the time to be here with mild temperatures and lots going on.

      September 22, 2013 at 7:38 pm

  9. Amazing pictures, great job! “Guest artist” is quite powerful…

    September 22, 2013 at 8:39 pm

    • Thank you. There is a 2012 set on the blog, it can be found using the search box at the bottom of the page.

      September 22, 2013 at 8:41 pm

  10. Love the eye the guest artist is making…

    September 23, 2013 at 5:09 am

  11. Thanks for posting this Ron. I’ll reblog it. I’d like to go see it if I’m not offshore. I live near Houston and didn’t know about this.

    September 23, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    • They have a facebook page you can check.

      September 23, 2013 at 2:25 pm

      • thanks, will do, my facebook is pretty iffy at the moment, some kind of bug in my computer

        September 23, 2013 at 2:49 pm

  12. Reblogged this on Capt Jills Journeys and commented:
    I’d like to go see this if I’m not offshore. I didn’t know about this. It looks fun.

    September 23, 2013 at 1:31 pm

  13. this is fabulous…if is so impressive to me to see art/culture embraced and not ignored! love it!!!

    September 23, 2013 at 2:51 pm

  14. These are great Ron…love your treatment of colour in your images…

    September 23, 2013 at 6:52 pm

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,027 other followers