The Paradise Garden

The Paradise Garden

The Paradise Garden

Kissimmee, Florida is not as well known as it’s largest employer, Walt Disney World. Here Mickey watches over all.  To compete for attention local merchants resort to Googie architecture.  That is a design where the shape of the building mimics an item for sale, and is often otherwise impractical.  The two kids running at full speed on an elevated boardwalk are relatives.  That was shot at Tibet-Butler Nature Preserve.  It invokes some of the magic of the iconic “A Walk to the Garden of Paradise” by W. Eugene Smith.  Some of the photos were captured at Disney Animal Kingdom, a deluxe accredited zoo that is part of the Disney World complex.

43 responses

  1. VERY NICE
    GREETING(s)from ANDREA
    Beautiful DAY

    September 8, 2013 at 8:39 am

  2. Excellent!! Kissimmee …. close to where I live.
    Reblog: http://hrexach.wordpress.com/

    September 8, 2013 at 8:53 am

    • Thank you Doctor.

      September 8, 2013 at 9:03 am

      • Anytime … I admire your work. You photos are way beyond excellent!!

        You can call me Horty.
        Here’s wishing you a great day!!!

        September 8, 2013 at 9:12 am

        • OK Horty, I will try to remember that. I see you are an MD. I will take two aspirins and see you later…

          September 8, 2013 at 9:14 am

        • I am ….. take the 2 aspirins and call me in the morning!! LOL ….

          September 8, 2013 at 9:18 am

  3. Thanks for the info on Googie Architecture! Nice post.

    September 8, 2013 at 8:54 am

    • Thank you, always on the lookout for the Wienermobile.

      September 8, 2013 at 9:03 am

  4. Third reblog of this post, hmmm….

    September 8, 2013 at 9:09 am

  5. The World a Pond Knows is very Monet like…love it.

    September 8, 2013 at 10:49 am

    • Thank you, there are a few other Monet like shots if you scroll down 10 or 20 posts.

      September 8, 2013 at 11:06 am

  6. Fantastic use of colour.
    When I see your photos I ever think about using colors sometimes in my pics.
    Maybe one day I will try it

    September 8, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    • You know all that stuff about learning to visualize in black and white. It is even harder to visualize in color because as we see in color we take it for granted. Thank you for the comment. I alway enjoy what you publish.

      September 8, 2013 at 6:15 pm

  7. cool photos..yes, I’ve seen those unique buildings in Kissimmee…love the two children on the wooden walkway…

    September 8, 2013 at 7:56 pm

  8. Brilliant captures Ron! Thank you for sharing.

    September 9, 2013 at 12:15 am

  9. Nice shots
    Regards :)

    September 9, 2013 at 2:04 am

  10. The orange stand made me laugh out loud. Awesome!

    September 9, 2013 at 2:30 pm

  11. hi ron,

    i just love the shot of the two boys holding hands walking along the walkway.

    cheers,
    kap

    September 9, 2013 at 11:41 pm

  12. thanks for leading me to this, these boys are beautiful wherever they are )

    January 27, 2014 at 8:42 am

    • These are different boys from the ones at Hanalei, Thank you.

      January 27, 2014 at 9:16 am

  13. The wizard looks to be trippin’… Great shootin’ !

    March 7, 2014 at 9:00 am

  14. Really enjoyed your photos, Ron. What a magical place. :)

    March 7, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    • Thank you, but it is so near to the Magic Kingdom, that helps.

      March 7, 2014 at 4:07 pm

  15. the reflections are great fun and quite beautiful !! definitely look better in color ;)

    March 7, 2014 at 9:54 pm

    • I do reflections about 95% in color. If there is one thing about me that is really different it is that I move back and forth between color and B&W a lot. Thank you for your continued interest in my photography. I wish I could give out frequent viewer miles.

      March 7, 2014 at 9:59 pm

  16. The “Googies” remind me of the Route 66 of old…

    March 8, 2014 at 12:10 am

  17. Absolutely gorgeous… Thank you very much for sharing.
    Best regards Aquileana :P

    PS: the link I copypasted previously was a mistake, sorry about that !

    August 14, 2014 at 8:53 am

    • You make mistakes, join the club.

      August 14, 2014 at 8:54 am

      • Oh yes, thank you for the kindness and the giggles :P

        Aquileana :D

        August 14, 2014 at 8:56 am

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,190 other followers