Taormina on the Cliff

Guard Dog (Poodle in Taormina)

Guard Dog (Poodle in Taormina)

Taormina is a lovely resort town in the shadow of Mount Etna.  It is built on cliffs overlooking the channel between Sicily and Italy.  My hotel was built into one of those cliffs with every room having a view of the sea between Sicily and the mainland of Italy.  This town has all sorts of stairs to climb, a beach below, and archeological sites above.  The Greek Theater is an excellent ruin with fabulous views.  While I was there Etna was venting.  It spewed fire the day after I left.  There’s lots of variety with the volcano,  gardens, old style European town, cliffs, hills and even the tropical Isola Bella.

65 responses

  1. Reblogged this on Amanda's Words / starfire8me and commented:
    cute doggie!

    September 18, 2013 at 8:34 am

  2. Greek ruins ??? Not Roman ????
    As usual, great shots…
    Love, hugs and prayers…ME and the Boss

    September 18, 2013 at 8:36 am

  3. Harry Conte

    More nice work Ron. I was wondering what your “walk around” lens would be for your street photos? I’ve been using a 35mm Nikon prime lens. I’m going to go to the Renaissance Festival her in Plantersville in a few weeks and was either going to use my 70-300 VR or my 50mm Prime. What are your thoughts for that place?

    September 18, 2013 at 8:49 am

    • Harry most of my walk around shooting is now done with a 24-120 f/4 VR on a D800. For the Renfest I would take all three lenses you mentioned assuming you are shooting FX. On DX you could skip the 50. The 70-300 is killer for the chain mail dancers. For half or full body and small group portraits the 50 will work nicely, the 35 on groups or if it gets crowded. If you shoot DX, something wider than a 35 should be in the bag. Don’t take too much because you will be on your feet. I don’t shoot flash, but I see a lot of flash units up there too.

      I am hoping to make it up there, perhaps even on opening day.

      September 18, 2013 at 9:00 am

      • Harry Conte

        It’s tempting to bring all three but as the day goes on they put on weight. I’ve got a D300 so its DX format for me. Not sure which weekend I’ll be going up there but I’m not going to miss the photo ops this year.

        September 18, 2013 at 10:42 am

        • For DX skip the 50 because the 35 will work better. If you have to do head shots use the 70-e00 @70 and wide open. If you have something wide it would be useful. The group shots of the dancers required a 24 on FX, 16 on DX.

          September 18, 2013 at 10:47 am

  4. Ha ha, love the “Guard Dog” !!!

    September 18, 2013 at 9:13 am

  5. These are wonderful!

    September 18, 2013 at 9:17 am

  6. Great shots!

    September 18, 2013 at 9:23 am

  7. Of course I am partial to the guard dog photo. Very nice-lovely photos.

    September 18, 2013 at 9:59 am

  8. Beautiful colors and greyscale when it is needed – Really like the limestone abstract, but now I have to dig out my old Neil Young LP…”I could be happy the rest of my life with my cinnamon girl…”

    September 18, 2013 at 10:01 am

    • Thanks for reminding me about the song. The limestone shot is color manipulated. I first came up with this process with the Helsinki tour boat shot. It is all done with basic editing tools, no plugins.

      September 18, 2013 at 10:07 am

  9. Love the fierce guard dog :) !

    September 18, 2013 at 12:01 pm

  10. Wow, Isola Bella!!!

    September 18, 2013 at 12:32 pm

    • The water was too deep for me to wade out there without a dry bag for the camera. I absolutely loved Sicily.

      September 18, 2013 at 1:50 pm

      • Yes, it really looks great! Never been to Sicily…

        September 19, 2013 at 1:53 am

  11. Great use of black and white on the poodle photo. I am headed to Europe in a few weeks and have been considering going to Sicily. Do you have any tips or suggestions about visiting the island?

    September 18, 2013 at 12:45 pm

    • Go there. Under the Europe drop down menu in my header you will find an Italy button and my photographs from other parts of Sicily. The only thing I might skip is Agrigento because it is a bit out of the way and the archaeological site while very good is about all there is there.

      September 18, 2013 at 1:54 pm

      • I looked through the photos of Sicily and Italy and you have some great shots. I love the street photography of people. I did much of that in India on my last trip and was worried that it might not be as interesting in Europe, but your pictures prove that people photography is interesting no matter where.

        We don’t have much of a plan for this trip so we will just go where we feel, but I think Sicily will be on the itinerary.

        September 19, 2013 at 2:44 am

  12. I like the new look of your blog!

    September 18, 2013 at 1:35 pm

    • Not sure when you saw it last. I have been mainly using Twenty Twelve since January, with occasional relapses to Modularity Lite which does not look hugely different. Thank you for stopping by.

      September 18, 2013 at 1:55 pm

      • Where did that avatar come from? Not mine! Anyway thanks for liking my blog!

        September 18, 2013 at 2:11 pm

        • The pink avatar above! (where I say the dog is fierce) It’s haunted me before!

          September 18, 2013 at 2:13 pm

        • WordPress generated that avatar because you don’t have a Gravitar. See Settings/Discussion Settings/Default Avatar/Wavatar. You sill see something different on different blogs when you comment as there are 7 possible settings.

          September 18, 2013 at 2:29 pm

      • oh, it was on black…not so long ago or am losing my sight?

        September 18, 2013 at 2:12 pm

        • It might have been on black for a day or so when I was messing with Modularity Lite. I decided the fonts are too small to read on that theme plus I like infinite scroll and responsive width that Twenty Twelve provide.

          September 18, 2013 at 2:25 pm

  13. Okay, we are good now. And I really chase your post, not faking :)

    September 18, 2013 at 2:41 pm

  14. nice landscapes Ron :)

    September 18, 2013 at 6:04 pm

  15. Amazing photos!

    September 18, 2013 at 7:36 pm

    • Thank you Beth. Is that short for Elizabeth?

      September 18, 2013 at 7:38 pm

      • It is :)

        September 18, 2013 at 7:40 pm

        • One of my relatives named Elizabeth goes by “E”.

          September 18, 2013 at 8:38 pm

        • Cute! I’ve been called B before and I’m always referring to people by their first initial. Kinda funny!

          September 18, 2013 at 9:11 pm

        • :)

          September 18, 2013 at 10:17 pm

    • Unbelievably beautiful photos. You must really savor this experience. Even though you are alone!!!!!

      September 18, 2013 at 7:45 pm

  16. fabulous location…love the Key hole perspective…great series!

    September 18, 2013 at 7:53 pm

  17. my friend you take the most amazing pictures.

    September 25, 2013 at 2:51 am

  18. I love the Guard Dog picture!

    October 7, 2013 at 9:06 am

  19. What a beautiful place to visit. You are so lucky with sun shined on your shoulders and last but not least, great photos !.

    October 7, 2013 at 10:35 am

    • Thank you please belong to me.

      October 7, 2013 at 12:03 pm

      • You are most welcome, Ron. I am always amazed by your post in which you always include the photo(s) of the people, Ladies for most and quite adorable ! :-)

        October 7, 2013 at 5:52 pm

        • Thank you P. Well on this one I have a dog, ladies and all sorts of stuff.

          October 7, 2013 at 7:30 pm

  20. Thanks for liking my blog, Ron, and very pleased to have come across your work, love it!

    October 10, 2013 at 10:33 am

  21. Thank you for liking my blog post on my hike on the Appalachian Trail. Your own blog is very professional, with great photos!

    Thx again!

    October 10, 2013 at 10:58 am

  22. Wonderful shots. I’d love to explore Isola Bella.

    October 19, 2013 at 6:47 pm

    • I did not cross over there because I had no way to protect the camera. It is a very small island.

      October 19, 2013 at 7:41 pm

  23. I’d like to get up close to that theatre.

    October 26, 2013 at 8:07 pm

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,555 other followers