Houston Art Car Parade 0512

Art Car Conversation

Art Car Conversation

The Parade takes place on Allen Parkway between the posh mansions of River Oaks and the West boundary of downtown.  Here is a collection of girls in off the wall costumes or with over the top behavior, such as the woman in a Farrah Fawcett inspired red outfit, or the girls who were walking around without much on.  Where else will you see Minnie Mouse with a bare midriff?

What is an art car is as hard to explain as what is art, varying from motorized sculpture with no daily transportation value to cars which have been temporarily covered with artistic materials.

48 responses

  1. That main pic is some RAD art I love it.

    May 9, 2013 at 9:10 am

  2. absolutely fabulous…am hoping you don’t get rain this year

    May 9, 2013 at 9:47 am

    • Weather man says it is looking bad. BTW, Chita does the weather.

      May 9, 2013 at 10:07 am

  3. Great photos! I guess tattoos aren’t as expensive as in Holland!!??
    Love the green girl with pink hair. She really made me laugh!!! ;)

    May 9, 2013 at 9:53 am

    • I don’t think tattoos are cheap here either. Yeah, green girl, on a bicycle too.

      May 9, 2013 at 10:00 am

  4. The Art Car Conversation is fabulous! Someone had a lot of fun creating that piece.

    May 9, 2013 at 10:19 am

  5. looks like an amazing event! we have car shows here but nothing like this… :)

    May 9, 2013 at 11:05 am

  6. Looks like great fun and unique subject matter for awesome photos. Hope the rain holds off.

    May 9, 2013 at 11:30 am

  7. That guy or gal really likes teeth ! Good stuff.

    May 9, 2013 at 11:33 am

  8. I’m organizing a VW Rally in Kabul, Afghanistan – I can’t even begin to explain how different it will be. I just wish I could take these photos and put on an exhibition during the rally. What a clash of cultures that would be. Great photos that, for me, depict such a wonderfully liberal Houston. I will try to post some photos of the rally here for comparison sake!

    May 9, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    • I believe Afghanistan is not in my travel plans for this year.

      May 9, 2013 at 5:42 pm

  9. A great time had by all, and the art car teeth and head is kinda distuuuuurbing!

    May 9, 2013 at 4:28 pm

  10. Hope it doesn’t rain. This event looks like so much fun.

    May 10, 2013 at 3:15 am

  11. wow..this seems very creative…and first pic is so funny as well .thanks a lot for sharing Ron!

    May 11, 2013 at 8:54 am

  12. All a matter of taste.

    May 11, 2013 at 6:41 pm

  13. What a bizarre and beautiful world…

    May 11, 2013 at 8:08 pm

  14. Once again, you’ve gloriously captured truly peculiar characters !

    March 25, 2014 at 8:14 am

    • This is vintage Houston. People who have not been here think Houston is a bland cow town like Dallas, but it is one of the most artsy places around.

      March 25, 2014 at 8:17 am

  15. I’ll see that first picture in my mind next trip to the dentist. Thanks alot! lol. I love the redhead with the owl tattoo… awesome shot, among many other awesome shots! ~SueBee

    March 25, 2014 at 8:38 am

    • Thank you. I spoke to the redhead for a while.

      March 25, 2014 at 8:42 am

  16. une belle mise en bouche :-D

    March 25, 2014 at 9:04 am

  17. freaky :)

    March 25, 2014 at 9:26 am

  18. I love the art cars! They’re so amazingly creative. People really get into it. :-)

    March 26, 2014 at 7:02 am

    • Thank you, it’s a big thing here.

      March 26, 2014 at 7:16 am

      • i’ve seen it a couple of times, I try to go to the international festival when I’m home, I’ve seen the art cars there

        March 28, 2014 at 12:56 pm

        • This weekend is the Bayou City Arts Festival, and there is a Kite festival too.

          March 28, 2014 at 12:57 pm

        • that sounds like a lot of fun Ron, too bad I’m offshore for the next couple of weeks :-(
          hey, I found out something last week you might be interested in. I had heard that they sunk my old 72′ schooner the “Island Girl” in Mammoth Lake in Lake Jackson TX, I was out for lunch at Aisels restaurant next door and decided to take a walk over to the SCUBA place and ask if it was true.
          YES, it was true. The guy working there showed me a map with the location of my old boat right on there. They actually had TONS of neat stuff all over the bottom of the lake for the divers to play with.
          I don’t know if you’ve already checked it out, but if you ever dive around Houston area, it might be something interesting to do.

          March 28, 2014 at 1:05 pm

        • What do you do offshore?

          March 28, 2014 at 2:05 pm

        • I usually work as dynamic positioning officer and either 2nd mate, chief mate or master (captain) on all sorts of vessels. I’m on a drillship right now. I was on a big dive boat with ROVs (remotely operated vehicles) last trip. I spent a couple of years as captain on a tuna boat (purse seine) in the South Pacific a couple of years ago, etc. :-) I LOVE it out here on the water, just wish I wasn’t stuck in the Gulf of Mexico so often, that South Pacific is much more to my liking. ;-)

          March 28, 2014 at 5:56 pm

        • Unusual career for a woman, but if it is your calling you have to do it. Your last name is associated with a particular tribe… Shipboard life is addicting.

          March 28, 2014 at 6:00 pm

        • yeah, when I started all I ever heard was ‘girls can’t do that’, I was like ‘if you idiots can do it, then I sure can’. ;-)
          It is addicting, I just wish we could still go somewhere. I don’t like just flying out to the middle of the GOM and sitting in the same location for weeks and then flying back home.
          What’s with my last name? I don’t really know much family history.

          March 29, 2014 at 8:10 am

        • Last name is frequently Jewish, but not always. I am impressed with your career achievements.

          March 29, 2014 at 8:14 am

        • Yeah, my fathers father was Jewish, from Austria. I really never got to know him. My grandmother was Catholic so I got more of that.
          Thanks! It was/is a hard road to travel, but I think it’s worth it. :-)

          March 29, 2014 at 8:21 am

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,190 other followers