All American Barbecue Festival

Race Cars Moving Out

Race Cars Moving Out

Over the Independence Day weekend Reno holds the All-American Barbecue Festival in conjunction with the Firecracker 500 off road race.  A booth serving up very tasty BBQ was run by the Silver Legacy Hotel.  I highly recommend it if you are planning a stay in Reno.  The high plains of Northern Nevada are special, with lots of sunshine, moderate afternoon high temperatures, cool evenings and low humidity.  It was very nice in the afternoons when the sun slipped behind the Silver Legacy and Eldorado buildings.

26 responses

  1. From your pics I very obviously gathered you’re fan of- women, women with tattoos, more women, sunshine, women and perhaps more women?:-D

    March 8, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    • By definition, since the beginning of civilization, women represent beauty. There are a lot of good landscape photos on this site too. You should look for them. Thank you for stopping by.

      March 8, 2013 at 10:24 pm

      • I agree Ron. I was just teasing you. Have seen your other pics. Very beautiful.:-)

        March 9, 2013 at 5:34 am

  2. reading your blog makes me realize…I really got to get out more!…thanks for sharing.

    March 8, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    • Then get out more, and thank you for stopping by and commenting.

      March 8, 2013 at 10:25 pm

  3. Jennifer

    Let me at it. Desert racing sounds awesome. And of course the crazy tattoos tough women are part this as well (guns and knives, a little insecure don’t you think, lack of self confidence…)

    March 8, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    • Guns and knives, well I don’t want to venture into what she was thinking, but I don’t want to know her either. Thank you for the comment Jennifer.

      March 8, 2013 at 10:20 pm

  4. I have nominated you for the versatile blogger award and hope you don’t mind!!

    http://doro1k1z.wordpress.com/2013/03/09/prizes-and-awards/

    March 9, 2013 at 3:44 am

    • I appreciate your thinking of me, but I do not participate in most awards.

      March 9, 2013 at 9:24 am

      • I understand completely….they do have a sort of pass it on chain letter idea behind it!

        March 9, 2013 at 11:16 am

  5. Really great picture of the Reno River. Wish we had rivers like that in Holland. Too bad! ;)

    March 9, 2013 at 10:21 am

    • Holland has its own charm. Thank you for the comment.

      March 9, 2013 at 4:46 pm

  6. Having lived in Reno for 30+ years you have captured Reno beautifully and exactly as it is! Excellent photography!

    May 29, 2013 at 9:55 pm

    • I must say that I really had a great weekend in Reno. It must have been the high altitude, crowded bars and slots.

      May 29, 2013 at 10:03 pm

      • Reno is fun even when you life here. It is “The Biggest Little City.” Did you win?

        May 29, 2013 at 10:09 pm

        • Broke even. I only play just enough to say that I did, LOL. I went there for a convention. The street festival kind of dropped out of the sky. I would call that winning.

          May 29, 2013 at 10:12 pm

        • The million dollar question. Did you at least drive by a house of prostitution? Lol

          May 29, 2013 at 10:20 pm

        • I might have walked by one for all I know…

          May 29, 2013 at 10:52 pm

        • I’m sure you did! lol

          May 29, 2013 at 11:57 pm

  7. Nice shots Ron although in this case I actually prefer the off road race truck to the women :-)

    April 23, 2014 at 12:00 pm

    • They had some mean looking race trucks there. Some were powered with Viper V-10 based engines and the transmissions were special units costing about $40k.

      April 23, 2014 at 12:34 pm

      • I bet they sounded amazing too!

        April 23, 2014 at 12:38 pm

        • Even the ones with stock GM 2.5 liter 4 bangers were insanely loud. At the time I shot that the whole place was shaking and rock bands were getting drowned out.

          April 23, 2014 at 12:40 pm

        • :-)

          April 23, 2014 at 2:34 pm

  8. awesome series…looks like a great time there!

    April 23, 2014 at 3:25 pm

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,044 other followers