Texas Renaissance Festival Women in Chainmail

Two Women in Chainmail

Two Women in Chainmail

From the opening day of the 2012 Texas Renaissance Festival, here are photos of the lovely chainmail (or chain mail) women, girls or wenches, dancing and enjoying the festival.  It was a pleasant 75 mile drive from Houston to the fair near Plantersville, Texas.  I had a chance to speak with several of those pictured  The weather was great with a high of about 80 F. As the weekend theme was Octoberfest, you can bet the taverns were full of costumed revelers guzzling beer.  I hope to attend the 2013 festival soon.

23 responses

  1. Nice work Ron!! ;)

    Like

    November 7, 2013 at 10:14 am

    • Thank you, how about this new crazy mixed up reader?

      Like

      November 7, 2013 at 10:25 am

      • I saw that this morning, means nothing to me though as I never use it. I was looking for the ability to moderate Likes and remove followers but that wasn’t found. These are superficial changes, nice but don’t mean much. My Admin panel now has a different color though.

        Like

        November 7, 2013 at 10:29 am

  2. RMW

    I always enjoy your people posts as they show me another side of life I would never have known existed… and I haven’t exactly led a “sheltered” life…. I especially love to see the women with the not-exactly “perfect” figures having the courage to show it off…

    Like

    November 7, 2013 at 10:34 am

    • Perfect is what the media wants you to think it is. A few curves never hurt any woman.

      Like

      November 7, 2013 at 11:05 am

  3. Another good post…yes, it is a VERY silly reader “upgrade”.

    Thanks!

    Like

    November 7, 2013 at 10:56 am

    • There is a thread about in the support forums now 6 pages long. Nearly everyone hates it.

      Like

      November 7, 2013 at 11:05 am

  4. Whoa. Chainmail bikinis are a thing? I WANT!

    Like

    November 7, 2013 at 11:52 am

  5. This photo: the girl on the right is looking at you suspiciously! The one on the left has it down. Texas?

    Like

    November 7, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    • Definitely Texas, I think she is squinting. I spoke with them for a while before asking to take their picture.

      Like

      November 7, 2013 at 12:22 pm

      • You take good pictures in general, but your people pictures are exceptional in that the viewer can read thoughts on their faces.

        Like

        November 9, 2013 at 4:55 pm

        • Thank you. I am a little unusual in that I do multiple genres. A lot of the advanced amateur photographers tend to fall into doing one thing.

          Like

          November 9, 2013 at 5:06 pm

        • I wouldn’t call you advanced amateur. take amateur out of it!

          Like

          November 9, 2013 at 5:18 pm

        • By definition I am not a professional because I don’t earn any income from photography.

          Like

          November 9, 2013 at 5:24 pm

  6. The link you gave us goes to your blank blog, my tips for skpping “the reader” is go to settings, then choose reading settings then at the 5th option choose “summary” and not full text.

    Like

    November 7, 2013 at 1:43 pm

  7. Definitely not the Renaissance Fairs of old with the chain mail bikinis.
    The reader is a mess. I don’t use it, preferring to visit a blog by actually looking at the site.

    Like

    November 7, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    • Thanks for commenting, lots of people are upset over the reader.

      Like

      November 7, 2013 at 2:32 pm

  8. very nice :-)

    Like

    November 7, 2013 at 2:16 pm

  9. Now that’s the place to capture interesting humanity. These girls are great! :-)

    Like

    November 7, 2013 at 11:13 pm

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,326 other followers