Walking With Lions

Lions Ready to Pounce

Lions Ready to Pounce

Walking with lions was a great experience.  I was high after it was over.  The lions are accustomed to being with humans.  Their trainer keeps them focused on a chunk of meat on the end of a long pointed stick while they are waiting to be touched.  The speed at which the lions can grab that tidbit of food is astonishing.  These are truly wondrous creatures.  What also struck me was how much affection these two lions had for each other.  They were not fully grown.  The male massed 150 kg and is expected to reach 260 kg.  Later that day I drove back to Capetown, and began my long trip back to the USA the next afternoon.

147 responses

  1. what beautiful photos!

    November 23, 2013 at 2:10 pm

  2. I peed my pants just looking at the photos!

    November 23, 2013 at 2:13 pm

    • Thanks, now find a steep hill and ride down it as fast as possible.

      November 23, 2013 at 3:40 pm

  3. Looks like a frighteningly amazing experience! Awesome!!

    November 23, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    • It wasn’t frightening at all, kind of surreal.

      November 23, 2013 at 3:41 pm

      • Good to know. Can’t say I wouldn’t be a bit intimidated by such large and powerful felines but it would be pretty epic to walk with and be that close to em.

        November 23, 2013 at 3:56 pm

  4. So cool!!!

    November 23, 2013 at 11:37 pm

  5. Still not convinced I would not be terribly nervous. After all, I’m probably the bigger piece of meat than the one at the end of the stick :)

    November 24, 2013 at 2:20 am

  6. You’re so brave!

    November 24, 2013 at 12:00 pm

  7. :D Awesome! On a random note, I wanted to see the lion & red panda at the zoo last night when I went to Zoo Lights, but it was closed off…

    November 24, 2013 at 5:29 pm

    • Nice hearing from you. This weather is awful.

      November 24, 2013 at 5:39 pm

      • Thanks. Good to hear from you too. Ya. I’m not fond of these rainy weather.

        November 24, 2013 at 5:53 pm

  8. the most amazing thing I’ve ever done is spending an hour with those cats in Zambia ) .. your pics look great !

    November 25, 2013 at 8:54 am

  9. Brilliant

    December 7, 2013 at 12:23 am

  10. Phenomenal photos!
    Your blog is great…

    December 9, 2013 at 2:06 pm

  11. I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award! Congratulations :) You can see your nomination here http://cristinsadventures.com/2013/12/17/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    December 17, 2013 at 8:31 am

    • Cristin, thank you for thinking of me, but I don’t respond to referral awards..

      December 17, 2013 at 8:50 am

  12. Beautiful lions!
    I have 2 Siamese cats.
    Sometimes I have tell my male Siamese cat “NO!”…and he glares at me with his big blue eyes.
    I am not sure what would happen IF he didn’t get his way, AND he was bigger than me! :)
    Guess I would have to walk around all of the time with a big piece of meat on the end of a long stick….

    December 19, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    • All cats have their origin in the dry plains of Africa. Lions just knock me out.

      December 19, 2013 at 9:28 pm

  13. Sorry – I’m a bit late to your site but were these lions in Zimbabwe or South Africa? Beautiful photos.

    January 16, 2014 at 6:42 am

  14. Just found your site. You have an amazing eye for story telling through image. Excellent work. Blessings on your efforts.

    February 4, 2014 at 10:23 am

  15. Stunning photo shot!

    March 13, 2014 at 11:29 am

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,896 other followers