Seen From Deck 15

Harbor Sunset

Harbor Sunset

Before I went on this Baltic cruise I was afraid it would be a bust photographically and I would gain a pound per day.  I had visions of being herded around in large groups through places so crowded that meaningful photography would be impossible.  I did gain weight, but not so much, and I have since worked it off.  Sometimes my vision of impossible crowds came true, but not that often.  I had completely failed to anticipate just how breathtaking views from the upper decks of the ship would be.  Several posts back I published a series of landscapes from the Oslo Fjord where one of the above photographs was made.

I also want to thank everyone for the wonderful comments they made to my last post.  Several said they come here because of the travel content.  I find that interesting as this is not a travel blog in the usual sense.

31 responses

  1. What a lovely collection of shots. I remember having all the same worries as you before we went on our first cruise, and like you the reality was somewhat different from my imagination. it was wonderful and we have done it a few times now. We head to Venice in a few weeks to cruise down the Dolmation Coast….I’m already drolling at the thought of the photos I might capture :-) Its a great way to travel!

    August 10, 2013 at 8:21 am

    • Hopefully, Venice will not be as crowded in the fall as it is in the summer. If you find it too busy around St. Marks head over to the Jewish Quarter. It is far from the center and offers many possibilities. Check the Italy menu button in the header and scroll down to find Venice.

      August 10, 2013 at 10:08 am

  2. Stunning pics

    August 10, 2013 at 9:32 am

  3. The Grand Tour

    Glorious photos!

    August 10, 2013 at 9:56 am

  4. Can’t pick a favorite, they are each so perfect.

    August 10, 2013 at 11:08 am

  5. Glad you experienced unanticipated outcomes. Thanks for sharing some of them with us!

    August 10, 2013 at 1:43 pm

  6. Great images. I believe we can find great photos every where. We just have to look

    August 10, 2013 at 2:07 pm

  7. I know what you mean, cruises have the most generous buffets…at least I’m told they do! When I go away in the winter I indulge, but I walk everywhere and all the time! These are some of your most beautiful shots Ron…of course I do love anything with water and sunrise/sunsets in them…

    August 10, 2013 at 4:15 pm

    • On the ship I had buffet for breakfast and sometimes lunch. If I got back from port late I either skipped lunch or went to the grill and got a burger or a hot dog. Dinner was always a sit down deal in the dining room. This ship no longer had the elaborate midnight buffets.

      August 10, 2013 at 4:20 pm

  8. Gorgeous! Thanks for sharing.

    August 11, 2013 at 1:45 am

  9. I’m especially taken by the sunrise photo. A Big Cloud and Three Sisters are also going on my Pin Board :) But then I am a sucker for beautiful shots of skies…

    August 11, 2013 at 2:46 am

  10. It is interesting that cruises are so popular again. When I was younger most travel, especially long distance travel was done by sea. And, because my family and I lived in port cities, one of our great entertainments, as children, was to watch the boats, passenger and cargo, come and go. Sometimes, ship captains and customs would allow us to take a tour of visiting boats. Today, in New Zealand, ferries still play a vital role in transportation links between our two main islands. So all these maritime scenes of boats and cruise ships and ports bring back a lot of memories for me.

    August 12, 2013 at 4:46 am

    • Ferries are important in the Baltic because of the geography.

      August 12, 2013 at 7:08 am

  11. Fantastic pictures and lovin the colours.

    August 12, 2013 at 6:04 pm

  12. Fantastic pictures. Living near the water I adore any shots that include water, boats and sunrise/sets in them. Love the pic of Simone. A ship employee??

    August 13, 2013 at 12:33 am

  13. Amazing shots! I have taken many cruises and continue to love the challenge of finding a way to do exactly the opposite of the masses of cruisers. I love how you include the people in your shots though, instead of the complete avoidance of them as I tend to do. Great perspective.

    August 15, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    • Thank you. It is nearly impossible to take meaningful photographs of crowded tourist venues. The ones you see without people in them are shot right after sunrise before the gates open. I shoot the people because that is what is possible.

      August 15, 2013 at 1:43 pm

  14. These are lovely. Reminds me of the magnititude of the world. I’m not a photographer so I get frustrated when I try to capture beauty and can’t– other people’s artwork fills that void.

    August 25, 2013 at 1:45 am

  15. Benjamin Ngooi

    Such good colours on this one!

    August 25, 2013 at 5:13 pm

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,585 other followers