In The Alps Above Slovenia

The Bells

The Bells

One of the things to do while staying in Lake Bled or Ljubljana is a drive up into the alps and Triglav National Park.  There are over 50 switchbacks, each one numbered and with precise distance markings.  After leaving the park I made it back to Bled on twisty, narrow mountain roads.  For a 20k section the power steering in my rented VW stopped working, rendering the vehicle almost undrivable.  I asked the rental company for an exchange car, but they would not give me one without charge, their excuse being the power steering started working again.

“The Bells” reminded me of the famous Maroon Bells outside of Aspen, Colorado.  The Skiers were getting ready to hike up the snow covered mountain to make a downhill run.  That is dedication.

For a while I took off my trusted 24-120 f/4 VR zoom and shot with an ultra wide 20 f/2.8 AF both on a Nikon D800.

50 responses

  1. Wow, such a pretty place. Lovely shots! :)

    May 9, 2014 at 8:24 am

  2. Love your pictures.

    May 9, 2014 at 8:29 am

  3. Grand vistas often demand wide-angle lenses! Nicely done. I am intrigued by the destroyed shelter and what may have caused it. Major winter storm?

    May 9, 2014 at 8:34 am

    • The shelter probably got crushed by an avalanche.

      May 9, 2014 at 9:37 am

  4. Great shots–the first place I ever skied! A bit of a disaster, but a beautiful place….

    May 9, 2014 at 8:35 am

    • Couldn’t have been to much of a disaster as you can enjoy a good bottle of wine between bike rides now and then,

      May 9, 2014 at 9:37 am

  5. Fantastic views, Ron! The car has good taste in where it dies, as far as the view. That poor little building looks like the wind was angry with it. ;)

    May 9, 2014 at 9:22 am

    • John, I think the building got hit by an avalanche. Thank you.

      May 9, 2014 at 9:33 am

  6. Awesome photographs. Great views

    May 9, 2014 at 9:57 am

  7. I can almost here Julie Andrews singing… :-)

    May 9, 2014 at 10:44 am

    • I thought about Julie Andrews when I was up there.

      May 9, 2014 at 12:26 pm

  8. Wow..beautiful set..You certainly did justice to its fantastic beauty

    May 9, 2014 at 11:03 am

    • Thank you. I had Indian food for lunch :)

      May 9, 2014 at 12:27 pm

      • Wow..what did you have? Chicken Tikka Masala..?

        May 9, 2014 at 12:29 pm

        • It was chicken in a red sauce in some kind of a wrap, served at an outdoor market by an Indian gal who grew up in the US and somehow wound up in Slovenia. Her booth had the longest line of all.

          May 9, 2014 at 12:35 pm

        • Did you enjoy it?

          May 9, 2014 at 12:40 pm

        • Yes, it was delicious.

          May 9, 2014 at 12:44 pm

        • Slovenia set is beautiful..I loved all the photos.

          May 9, 2014 at 12:46 pm

        • :)

          May 9, 2014 at 3:17 pm

  9. Awesome pics as always.

    May 9, 2014 at 11:14 am

  10. Love the photos Ron! They’re amazing!!

    May 9, 2014 at 1:05 pm

  11. At least the car died in scenic surroundings. :)

    May 9, 2014 at 2:45 pm

  12. Gorgeous. I once drove over Independence pass (an impossibly hard mountain pass in Colorado). By drove over, I mean I made it half way before having to back down a huge portion of it till I could turn around. I rented a Rubicon and everything. My dad took us over this pass several times as kids, he was a pro. The pictures are beautiful. I may have to put my big girl pants on and try this one :)

    May 9, 2014 at 5:15 pm

  13. Hi Ron,

    These photos are beautiful. Such clarity!

    Blessings,
    Judy

    May 10, 2014 at 5:21 pm

  14. Fantastic capture, Ron. You take MAXI pics, I take MINI pics. In all seriousness this photo I wish I could just dive right into. Just imaging what you felt while you were there gives me the goosebumps! xx Amy

    May 11, 2014 at 9:24 am

    • Amy, It is hard to say what I am feeling. It is both a cognitive and subconscious process. I rely on the automation built into the camera heavily so that I can give my attention to what is happening around me.

      May 11, 2014 at 9:26 am

      • I am with you on that one. I was just thinking about that the other day. I sometimes get so caught up in getting the settings right, I miss out in the moment. It’s nice once the settings are in the ballpark, so that I can get lost in what I am photographing. I can’t explain what I feel. It is just too big. I am sure it is the same way with you. xx

        May 11, 2014 at 9:34 am

  15. very beautiful pictures…..

    May 12, 2014 at 4:30 am

  16. Have you been over to the island in lake Bled, think you can row there, there is a sanctury

    May 12, 2014 at 8:03 am

  17. Sir… A thought… You have WAY too much fun! ;-)

    May 14, 2014 at 1:27 am

  18. Thank you for liking “Taking Time to Suffer: My Blogging ‘Vacation.'” Fantastic shots! :) The scenery is so beautiful in this area. I especially like “The Bells” and “The Car Died Here” (although I am not happy to hear you were having car trouble).

    I do not think I have seen the Maroon Bells outside of Aspen, Colorado. Do you have a picture of them on your blog?

    May 16, 2014 at 9:03 pm

    • Try the Colorado menu button in the header.

      May 16, 2014 at 11:15 pm

      • Thanks for letting me know. I just saw your photo of the Maroon Bells. I agree with you. They are similar in appearance. “The Maroon Bells” is a beautiful photo too! :)

        May 16, 2014 at 11:45 pm

  19. These are superb photos, Ron. I have a wide angle, but not an ultra wide angle. You can do some very interesting things with an ultra wide. I just know you threw a stone in the water for the first shot. Chuckle… A gorgeous result either way! :-)

    May 20, 2014 at 12:54 am

    • Actually, I did not throw anything in the water this time, but sometimes I do.

      May 20, 2014 at 4:03 am

  20. Thank you for liking “Taking Time to Suffer: My Blogging ‘Vacation.’” Fantastic shots! :) The scenery is so beautiful in this area. I especially like “The Bells” and “The Car Died Here” (although I am not happy to hear you were having car trouble).

    July 13, 2014 at 5:35 am

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,737 other followers