Split, Croatia Street Shots

Split Harbor at Night

Split Harbor at Night

Split is a coastal city in Croatia.  Because of its old town featuring Byzantine architecture, Split gets a lot of tourist visits.  My hotel was in old town and about a block away from the waterfront, making for a perfect location.  Most of the dining in Split is in outdoor cafes, which unfortunately, are on the smokey side.  Traditionally street photography has been presented in black and white.  This trip, I have been shooting almost entirely in color.  Digital cameras capture in color by default, and I have been happy with the results my Nikon D800 is providing with its 36 MP sensor.  It is possible that I may do a selection in monochrome after all the color images are published.

37 responses

  1. Fine set, Ron. Somehow there is more ‘calm’ in these 36mp.-shots.

    May 21, 2014 at 8:59 am

    • A lot has been written about whether most photographers need 36MP, because few print large enough to really need it. This does ignore that having lots of MP facilitates cropping. Some say one should get it right in camera, but in fast moving PJ situations that isn’t always possible.

      May 21, 2014 at 9:01 am

  2. I love Croatia. Went to Dubrovnik in 2010!

    May 21, 2014 at 11:10 am

  3. Pretty diverse collection of images here.
    You have captured the essence of street life beautifully, Ron :)

    May 21, 2014 at 11:23 am

  4. Bob

    Albania is a great place as well. Good for taking shots and nice people.

    May 21, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    • I have a continuing interest in Eastern Europe.

      May 21, 2014 at 12:21 pm

      • Bob

        Additionaly the foods are good and healthy in Eastern Europe. IMO

        Enjoy youe travels!

        “The fun of it all !”

        May 21, 2014 at 2:59 pm

        • The food was inexpensive. Much less than in Houston, and a glass of wine at dinner was almost a giveaway.

          May 21, 2014 at 3:05 pm

        • Bob

          Good stuff!

          May 21, 2014 at 3:09 pm

  5. Wow, great shots yet again. I really like the old town central square and split waterfront photos.

    May 21, 2014 at 12:06 pm

  6. Interesting to see your photos – our visit was to the Kavnar area

    May 21, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    • I did not make it to Kavnar. You can’t see everything.

      May 21, 2014 at 2:25 pm

  7. I love your feature shot. All the orange and the red haired woman. An “artsy” photograph! Missed seeing your work!

    May 21, 2014 at 6:23 pm

    • Thank you Hollis. I have lots of new stuff from this trip and a bunch more to post over the next week or so.

      May 21, 2014 at 6:27 pm

      • Great! I look forward to seeing the work. I am glad you got to get away after your contractor nightmare!

        May 21, 2014 at 6:35 pm

        • I am almost done with the construction.

          May 21, 2014 at 7:09 pm

  8. I really like your mix in this post, I’m not sure what is different from your normal excellent photos, but something makes me think so. :)

    May 21, 2014 at 7:14 pm

    • Thank you. I noticed that mixing abstracts with traditional landscapes worked better than doing separate posts of each. Perhaps variety helps in the blogosphere.

      May 21, 2014 at 7:17 pm

      • I did notice more of a sense of place. That might be it.

        May 21, 2014 at 7:24 pm

        • Whatever it is, I am happy you liked it.

          May 21, 2014 at 7:36 pm

  9. Oh I am dying to go to Croatia, it looks incredible!

    May 22, 2014 at 2:55 am

  10. Oh, Ron! That night scene is stunning!

    May 22, 2014 at 11:02 am

  11. Wow, looks like an absolutely incredible city. Great job on capturing the beauty of its architecture and people!! Think I just added another city to my bucket-list! :)

    May 22, 2014 at 1:16 pm

    • Thank you. The entire country of Croatia is interesting, just look through the last couple of posts.

      May 22, 2014 at 1:18 pm

  12. LB

    I’m loving the color!

    May 24, 2014 at 6:46 am

    • Since the beginning of 2013 I have been doing mostly color, only using B&W for certain types of shots. Been anywhere fun on the new scooter?

      May 24, 2014 at 7:08 am

      • LB

        While I bought it last week, I’m waiting for parts to be added. Hope to pick it up next Saturday!! :-)

        May 24, 2014 at 7:17 am

        • Ride safely and have fun. I am tempted…

          May 24, 2014 at 7:19 am

        • LB

          Thanks! I’ll be sharing photos soon :-)
          (say yes to the temptation!)

          May 24, 2014 at 7:34 am

  13. Split harbour at night is a superb shot. Awesome.

    May 26, 2014 at 2:45 am

  14. Thank you for liking “Odd Blooms.” Wonderful job on this photo gallery! :) My favorite photos are “Split Harbor at Night” and “Central Square of Split Old Town.” However, “With French Fries” also intrigues me because of the curious expression on the man’s face, and “Sex Shop” made me laugh because it is more colorful and interesting than the adult store in my neighborhood. The adult store in my neighborhood looks like a small real estate office in spite of the addition of a neon sign.

    May 29, 2014 at 10:26 pm

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,071 other followers