Dubrovnik, Old Town

Croatian Claustrophobia

Croatian Claustrophobia

Dubrovnik is situated on hills that meet the Adriatic Sea.  It is famous for its large Old Town.  While the area is ancient, most of the roofs were replaced in the 1990’s after the war which erupted over the break up of Yugoslavia.  Because it is a popular cruise port, Old Town is jammed with tourists and people hawking short boat tours.  A beer will set you back $6, the most expensive in Croatia.  As usual, I give you the not usual in photography.  I even let a monochrome shot slip in this time.

Perhaps what I do with travel photography is an illusion.  I feel I have to throw in a few of the more typical shots just to prove I was there.  The entrance to Old Town appears deserted when it was not.  The harbor area is the best place to just hang out with tour boat traffic for entertainment in addition to people watching.  Of course there was water so I grabbed some abstracts.

This is the first of several posts from Dubrovnik.  Stay tuned.

56 responses

  1. Beautiful Place!

    May 29, 2014 at 8:21 am

  2. Great photos, as always!

    May 29, 2014 at 8:26 am

  3. Great pics, Ron! “Blue Boat” is strikingly beautiful.

    May 29, 2014 at 8:28 am

  4. Nice pictures! I will be visiting Dubrovnik for the first time next week! :)

    May 29, 2014 at 8:41 am

    • There is very good vegetarian restaurant in Old Town.

      May 29, 2014 at 8:43 am

  5. Ooh! I’m going to Dubrovnik next week! Any travel tips?

    May 29, 2014 at 8:41 am

  6. Wow….really love that photo!

    May 29, 2014 at 8:42 am

  7. Nice photos!

    May 29, 2014 at 9:18 am

  8. I really like this one!

    May 29, 2014 at 9:20 am

    • Do you mean the b&w, there are 8 photos, but only one is visible in the reader, by design.

      May 29, 2014 at 9:21 am

      • The black and white is my favorite, yes, but I also like the blue boat and the entire set is just awesome.

        May 29, 2014 at 9:22 am

        • Thank you, stay tuned more are on the way.

          May 29, 2014 at 9:24 am

        • Awesome :)

          May 29, 2014 at 9:26 am

  9. gorgeous – love it all

    May 29, 2014 at 9:25 am

  10. Your picture draws your eye to the end. The picture does is a good example of the point I mentioned. Well done.

    May 29, 2014 at 11:17 am

  11. love them all…especially the 2 reflections in the water and looking down onto the roof tops…my favorite though is…”talk to a dummie”…that’s priceless :)

    May 29, 2014 at 1:08 pm

  12. Beautiful photography!

    May 29, 2014 at 2:41 pm

  13. Totally pulled into this post. Thank you, Ron, for bringing to me, yet another place on earth I will not be able to see. Fantastic photos. xx Amy

    May 29, 2014 at 2:53 pm

    • Thank you Amy. Close your eyes and fly where you wish. I know of a few good sights in your vicinity.

      May 29, 2014 at 3:10 pm

      • Me too. (smile) Thank you, Ron. Yes, I do know how to fly. I just did today in fact. xx

        May 29, 2014 at 6:26 pm

        • I hope you had your parachute nearby :)

          May 29, 2014 at 8:30 pm

        • Yup. Landed safely. I do thank you for your obvious concern. :-)

          May 29, 2014 at 8:40 pm

        • Was it some little single engine prop puddle hopper, and did you get to take any pictures?

          May 29, 2014 at 9:05 pm

        • Actually no to the hopper and yes to the pictures. No aerial views though. Sorry.

          May 29, 2014 at 9:07 pm

        • Well, at leas you did not fall out.

          May 29, 2014 at 9:15 pm

        • I never do. (smile)

          May 30, 2014 at 8:58 am

  14. Now I have returned because the yummy time is just about here in my day … my time. I LOVE the monochrome, and as I stared I could feel the walls closing in on me. I LOVE the photo of the brunette, her expression on her face is priceless. *giggling* You do have the eye for a pretty girl and she wasn’t too happy about it. And I LOVE the photo of the people staring at the dummy. Their expressions are priceless as well. Then the one photo of the laundry from high up, that was a unique perspective. Gosh, that was fun. I can’t wait for more!!! All of these photos are fantastic. I enjoyed this SO much in me time. Thank you, Ron! Love, Amy

    May 29, 2014 at 6:32 pm

    • When the sun is going down, that is the time. I don’t think the brunette was unhappy, just surprised. She does work in a place where everyone has a camera out. The dummy is just my speed. I have lots more photos from Dubrovnik to publish.

      I ate dinner out tonight with a guy I have known since childhood.

      May 29, 2014 at 8:33 pm

      • Sounds like you did some flying yourself today. Nice. I look forward to more pics from Drubrovnik. I’ll be on the lookout.

        May 29, 2014 at 9:05 pm

        • It was at low altitude, about 6 feet.

          May 29, 2014 at 9:14 pm

  15. My fiancé loved the city. Great shots

    May 29, 2014 at 8:34 pm

  16. nicely done!

    May 30, 2014 at 11:41 am

  17. It’s amazing that you’re able to travel so often! Lucky you ~nakitaaudrey.com

    May 30, 2014 at 3:20 pm

    • Thank you. This time I was home from late January until May 2nd. But I hope for things to pick up.

      May 30, 2014 at 4:06 pm

  18. I don’t enjoy drawing art that requires plotting vanishing points, but I love admiring someone else’s – wonderful b&w photo
    AnnMarie

    May 31, 2014 at 9:42 am

    • Thank you. Photography does get rid of the tedious aspects of drawing and painting. One has to get the camera in front of something good in the first place.

      May 31, 2014 at 9:54 am

  19. Reblogged this on For stock, images or travel books. and commented:
    Such a photogenic locale. Love it.

    May 31, 2014 at 6:16 pm

  20. Thank you for liking “Topiary.” Great shots of the Old Town in Dubrovnik! There is definitely a blend of old and new in this place. I am not very familiar with this part of the world, but I am glad to see what it is like through your photos. Thanks for sharing them. :)

    June 4, 2014 at 7:53 pm

  21. Love this shot, it reminds me of many of the old parts of towns and villages here in France.

    June 7, 2014 at 9:30 am

    • Thank you. As I recall, the walls in France are not quite as thick.

      June 7, 2014 at 9:44 am

  22. Hello and nice to meet you. Thank you for liking a post .Those places look really interesting .Have a nice day

    June 24, 2014 at 3:55 pm

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,022 other followers