Image

Dubrovnik in Black and White

Old Town Portal

Old Town Portal

Many of those who follow my photography have an interest in black and white conversions of digital images. The native output of a digital camera is color, enabled by a Bayer filter built into the sensor. What is interesting about black and white conversions is the photographer is able to change the color response of the image after the fact by manipulating color channels prior to mapping those colors to greyscale tones. With film the usual method of accomplishing this task was with colored filters or using film with a different color response. It’s beginning to break down, but there is resistance in the fine art world to digital black and white. candid street girls

More from Croatia: http://ronscubadiver.wordpress.com/category/croatia/

14 responses

  1. Your cover image is so peaceful! Our visual field’s so cluttered these days; I love how much space is in this shot. The crumbling doorway also a stunning shot! I also love converting digital shots into black and white, exciting how the character and composition, atmosphere and emphasis can change with one click of a button. With film, you take a shot in black and white ‘cos that’s what’s in your camera! With digital you know there’s been a conscious choice to use b&w, for a reason. I think the ‘old town portal’ shot is particularly striking in b&w!

    June 28, 2014 at 10:38 am

  2. Your BW photography is excellent my friend!

    June 28, 2014 at 11:20 am

  3. Ron

    No question about it. B&W brings more drama into photos.

    June 28, 2014 at 12:21 pm

  4. Great pics. I too think the old town portal looks particularly good in B&W.

    June 28, 2014 at 2:55 pm

  5. Nice. You have made me see clouds differently. Seeing them, even in New York, made me think of your photographs. I enjoyed hearing about the filters. And conversion.

    June 28, 2014 at 5:41 pm

    • Thank you Hollis, I was wondering what had caused you to think about me.

      June 28, 2014 at 5:44 pm

  6. Thank you for liking “Storybook Photos.” Another great gallery of black-and-white photos! :) I enjoyed looking at the textures of the stone walls, sidewalks, and stairs in “Old Town Portal,” “Old Town Alley,” and “Woman on the Stairs.” These photos have nice contrast too. I am especially interested in “The Adriatic, Sugimoto Style” because I am painting some clouds in an illustration I am working on. Your photo helps me see what I need to add to my illustration. :)

    June 29, 2014 at 7:41 pm

  7. Una Serie Impresionante, Hacia Tiempo Que no Veia Una En B&W Tan Especial, … Un Saludo.

    July 1, 2014 at 1:08 pm

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,950 other followers