Houston in Black and White 0112

Gargoyle Tree

Gargoyle Tree

Hell Awaits You was taken at Discovery Green right after the Houston Marathon in January 2012. Morris Overstreet is the first African American to hold statewide elected office in Texas. He was a Justice on the Court of Criminal Appeals. His portrait was taken during the January 2012 street flooding in Southwest Houston, also shown in the next image. The two photos following are from Hermann park. Covered Walkway was shot at the The Menil Collection art museum.

55 responses

  1. Love the Gargoyle Tree! Don’t like the first picture since I’m going to be drunk this weekend and I think myself to be a witch in some kind, shape or form… But the pictures are great!

    Like

    March 14, 2013 at 10:35 am

  2. Definitely amazing! πŸ™‚

    Like

    March 14, 2013 at 12:00 pm

  3. My friend, i nominated you for the Hug Award.
    Please visit this link
    http://cristimoise.wordpress.com/2013/03/14/the-hug-award-hope-unites-globally/

    Like

    March 14, 2013 at 2:18 pm

    • Please don’t be disappointed, but I do not participate in awards.

      Like

      March 14, 2013 at 3:40 pm

  4. Great shots. I really like the gargoyle tree.

    Like

    March 14, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    • Thank you. It took me a long time to get that one to look right.

      Like

      March 14, 2013 at 6:39 pm

  5. Excellent shots but I do love the two half wits with the signs…………. there is so much going on in that shot. Terry

    Like

    March 14, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    • Half wits, might be a generous description. Thank you for commenting.

      Like

      March 14, 2013 at 7:45 pm

      • In a funny kind of way these types don’t worry me that much, at least you can see who they are. It’s the ones who harbour this kind of hate and keep it quiet……… these one scare the s8hit out of me.

        Like

        March 14, 2013 at 7:48 pm

  6. Fantastic!

    Like

    March 14, 2013 at 8:17 pm

  7. LB

    Ron, that Gargoyle Tree is so dramatic, so clear, so impressive. It might just be my most favorite of yours. Do you sell your prints? (I also like Morris an awful lot)

    Like

    March 14, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    • I spoke to Morris for about 20 minutes before I asked to take his picture. He is a very likable man who lives in my neighborhood. He couldn’t go anywhere because the street was flooded. I would love to sell some prints, but I am not set up for e commerce at this time.

      Like

      March 14, 2013 at 10:28 pm

      • LB

        I hear you! I had a woman from England ask to purchase one of my prints and I had no clue what to do! It was nice to have someone appreciate the photo though …

        Like

        March 15, 2013 at 6:32 am

  8. malinhphotography

    I love the tree!

    Like

    March 15, 2013 at 2:20 am

  9. Bruce Ruston

    The tree is really cool, the sharpness, the black and white contrast work so well

    Like

    March 15, 2013 at 8:15 am

  10. Pam

    gorgeous gargoyle tree

    Like

    March 15, 2013 at 9:52 pm

  11. Thank you for liking my recent post. Like the other people who have commented before me, I like your photo of the Gargoyle Tree. Taking the picture in black and white makes the shadows of the branches stand out more than I think they would in a color photo. Keep up the good work on your blog! πŸ™‚

    Like

    March 16, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    • In Gargoyle tree the only way to bring out the sky is in B&W. The required processing would be lurid in color.

      Like

      March 16, 2013 at 4:11 pm

  12. Black and white photography always has my admiration! It reveals the soul … Wonderful!

    Like

    March 17, 2013 at 12:58 am

  13. Seriously Ron, these are good. Especially Gargoyle Tree, Morris Overstreet, and the Covered Walkway. Great composition.

    Hope you’re looking into getting these into publication somewhere.

    Like

    March 18, 2013 at 7:44 pm

  14. The tree with its crooked bareness ,limp away towards the sky and trunk got knots and broken branches..its like skeleton of life, with leaves when green everything is covered, and nothing seems wrong but once the bareness emerge, we can see how it got twisted and turned, rippled and cut.
    Nice picture, got character πŸ™‚

    Like

    March 21, 2013 at 10:51 pm

    • That is a very interesting interpretation. I think a being crawled up into the tree and was absorbed by it, turning into wood. Who knows?

      Like

      March 21, 2013 at 11:05 pm

  15. What a nice greeting at the end of 26.2 miles of personal hell.

    Like

    March 5, 2014 at 8:50 am

  16. I could do without any further reminder of stupid people, but love your other pics! ~SueBee

    Like

    March 5, 2014 at 9:17 am

  17. I love B&W! The religious guys are right, but the method they are using will drive most people away. Dumb idea. I hope it warms up there Ron, wow.

    Like

    March 5, 2014 at 9:18 am

  18. Nice images, Ron.

    In monochrome, the feel is different…

    Like

    March 5, 2014 at 10:47 am

  19. Beautiful imagery!

    Like

    March 5, 2014 at 10:55 am

  20. The tree is good in a gothic way, but the menil covered walkway looks intriguingly mysterious, when it’s just a walkway!

    Like

    March 5, 2014 at 2:41 pm

    • Denise, where have you been? The covered walkway is just a small corner of a large building. Thank you.

      Like

      March 5, 2014 at 3:28 pm

  21. LOVE the B&W…the tree is magnificent! The bulldogministries.com signs are interesting signage and made a great shot. If you ever do sell prints of your photos I’ll be one of the ones in line.

    Like

    March 5, 2014 at 4:26 pm

  22. Nice gallery! I was in Houston yesterday and froze my you know what off. Didn’t think it would be that cold even with this crazy winter. Safely back in warm weather today!

    Like

    March 5, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    • It warmed up a bit today and it is supposed to be nice for a few days. Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

      March 5, 2014 at 8:06 pm

  23. With so many responses….My two cents: I like the tree. I can see why you featured it. The cold. You can feel it.

    Like

    March 6, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    • Thank you Hollis. I can definitely see why the image conveys cold, but I recall taking it on a mild day during the winter.

      Like

      March 6, 2014 at 8:08 pm

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

