Crystal Singing Bowl Healing

Crystal Singing Bowl

Crystal Singing Bowl

Crystal Bowl Sound Healing is based on the Tibetan belief that everything in the world is made of energy. Our bodies contain energy in the form of vibrating atoms. These vibrations can be disrupted by injury, disease, poor diet and other nasty things. Sounds made by a crystal bowl restore natural healthy vibrations. Different sized bowls are intended to vibrate at frequencies appropriate to each of the seven chakras. This group meets at a time observed around the world simultaneously. Music is created by rubbing the bowl with a rubber mallet. The leader of the group also played the flute. I captured their ceremony on an afternoon in Menil Park, just a few yards away from the famous Rothko Chapel. The temperature was around 90F/32C, but it was comfortable in the shade with a light breeze blowing. My headache cleared as the music began.

41 responses

  1. Thanks for the “like!”

    Like

    May 17, 2013 at 7:35 am

  2. Crystal bowls are awesome!

    Like

    May 17, 2013 at 8:17 am

  3. I feel better just looking at these photos and knowing that this ceremony takes place. Soothing πŸ™‚

    Like

    May 17, 2013 at 8:23 am

    • I might go up there this weekend and look for them. I know what time, but I can’t remember which day.

      Like

      May 17, 2013 at 8:25 am

      • Do you have photos of the Rothko Chapel too?

        Like

        May 17, 2013 at 8:27 am

        • Photography is not allowed inside Rothko. I may have some from the exterior in my archives. It does not take long to drive over there…

          Like

          May 17, 2013 at 8:44 am

  4. Interesting – thanks for the background information.

    Like

    May 17, 2013 at 12:53 pm

  5. I have nominated your blog for the ‘Best Moment Award’, congratulations πŸ™‚

    Like

    May 17, 2013 at 1:13 pm

    • Please do not be disappointed, but I do not participate in referral awards.

      Like

      May 17, 2013 at 1:22 pm

      • It’s allright, I remember that but I always try to include my favourite blogs so that others can see them too πŸ™‚

        Like

        May 17, 2013 at 1:30 pm

  6. beautiful!

    Like

    May 18, 2013 at 12:15 am

  7. If only I could have joined them! Not only for the healing sound, but also for the weather!!! πŸ˜‰

    Like

    May 18, 2013 at 3:31 am

  8. An interesting subject, got me looking up videos of crystal singing! πŸ™‚

    Like

    May 18, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    • It might work, who am I to say otherwise…

      Like

      May 18, 2013 at 9:14 pm

      • Oh I wasn’t looking for it to do anything, just curious to see and hear it – turns out to sound a bit like Tibetan Buddhist chants and gongs.

        Like

        May 18, 2013 at 9:20 pm

        • I think the connection you mention is no accident.

          Like

          May 18, 2013 at 10:01 pm

  9. Looks & sounds like a wonderfully soothing ceremony…

    Like

    May 18, 2013 at 6:21 pm

  10. LB

    I’d never heard of this … fascinating!

    Like

    May 19, 2013 at 9:11 am

  11. Very cool post Ron, thanks for sharing the good vibes!

    Like

    May 19, 2013 at 2:49 pm

  12. Lovely photos of a beautiful healing practice…as witnessed by your disappaering headache. Thank you.

    Like

    May 20, 2013 at 4:49 pm

  13. “disappearing”

    Like

    May 20, 2013 at 4:49 pm

  14. I love Crystal Singing Bowl Healing…I had a massage once like that and it was very nice.

    Like

    March 20, 2014 at 8:36 am

  15. This is really interesting, I’ve not heard of this before – thanks for sharing. Beautiful photos, as always πŸ™‚

    Like

    March 20, 2014 at 9:10 am

  16. Singing healing bowls are incredible. Thank you for the lovely post! cher xo

    Like

    March 20, 2014 at 9:58 am

  17. I love singing bowls – I use them and their music a lot to meditate! πŸ™‚

    Like

    March 20, 2014 at 12:34 pm

  18. I was introduced to crystal bowls during college. One of my professors used to take us outside for short meditation sessions before class. This was during the summer and it was wonderful. I still use the breathing exercises she taught me when I’m feeling anxious.

    Like

    March 20, 2014 at 5:20 pm

    • Controlled breathing is fundamental in Yoga, I am told. I can tell you that it reduces air consumption under water. Of course, you can always hold Bailey when things get tough.

      Like

      March 20, 2014 at 10:26 pm

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

