Image

Street Photography: San Francisco

Girl and Special Shoes

Girl and Special Shoes

10 Photos in This Gallery

After many wine tastings, and a detour through Marin County, I arrive in downtown San Francisco.  The streets here are chock full of people making this an ideal place for street photography.  It was raining in the morning and the sun never came out.  Lack of direct sun can be beneficial as it avoids shadows across the subject’s face.  The “Victorian Group” greeted me at the rental car place.  Look at the four tall “women” carefully.

47 responses

  1. Great stuff! I think you enjoyed yourself, and we are sharing it. Thanks!

    Like

    January 8, 2014 at 9:13 am

  2. Nice photos Ron! We do live in the perfect area for a variety of photos! 😀

    Like

    January 8, 2014 at 9:17 am

  3. Great work Ron. The homeless photo is tough to look at.

    Like

    January 8, 2014 at 9:31 am

  4. Always check for the “adam’s apple” – except if you are photographing Ann Coulter ‘:-)

    Like

    January 8, 2014 at 9:58 am

    • I think the Adam’s apple shrinks if they are taking hormones.

      Like

      January 8, 2014 at 10:22 am

  5. Nice shots, Ron. Any reason to go for monochrome for some images?

    Like

    January 8, 2014 at 10:37 am

    • In street photography the background tends to be very cluttered and monochrome helps there. Most US based street photographers shoot mono. There are important exceptions.

      Like

      January 8, 2014 at 10:39 am

  6. I like the girl and shoes photo the best but all are excellent.

    Like

    January 8, 2014 at 10:49 am

  7. lilmountain

    This brings me back to when I lived there – nice captures!

    Like

    January 8, 2014 at 10:53 am

  8. interesting series…street photos of people feel personal to me! I rarely take photos with people in them…I do at our Market, but that is a public area and our vendors/customers see me all the time, rarely with out my camera, they know all the have to do is look away and I won’t take a photo…but I’m not comfortable walking the street and taking photos of people I see. I do enjoy looking at yours or other photographers street photos though!

    Like

    January 8, 2014 at 11:37 am

  9. Hi Ron!! Love the pictures!!! Are you ever in NYC, I would love to work together!!!

    Like

    January 8, 2014 at 1:16 pm

  10. gtonthenet

    Like the victorian vampires Ron.

    Like

    January 8, 2014 at 1:31 pm

  11. Awe these pics are so nice…I missed San Francisco …but may be next time as everyone told me its very nice so I am very keen to come there….Have a wonderful year ahead Ron…and awesome pics again

    Like

    January 8, 2014 at 10:59 pm

  12. Street photography is really entertaining activity and i love the most. Here i saw really some beautiful street photographs. Good Work!

    Like

    January 8, 2014 at 11:04 pm

  13. Nice to see some street photography from S.F.

    Like

    January 8, 2014 at 11:42 pm

  14. The girl leaning on the wall makes me want to write a story!

    Like

    January 9, 2014 at 11:46 am

  15. Victorian Vampires in SF; the city has it all 🙂 Lovely photos.

    Like

    January 10, 2014 at 4:13 am

  16. Particularly appealing series!

    Like

    January 10, 2014 at 8:34 am

  17. I love the honesty in these photos…particularly the expression of the woman talking on the phone. I think they’re beautifully caught and there’s a lovely diverse collection. Happy Travels!

    Like

    January 13, 2014 at 4:48 am

  18. Top notch set, as usual.

    Like

    January 26, 2014 at 10:25 am

  19. hutchphotography2020

    Great work.

    Like

    February 1, 2014 at 3:19 pm

  20. Reblogged this on Ron Scubadiver's Wild Life and commented:

    From the reader please navigate to the original post by clicking on the clock icon or “more words”. Do not click on the link in the grey box. From the blog, click on “View Original” at the end of the post.

    Like

    November 12, 2014 at 8:17 am

  21. Ron. I like the umbrella one. And the mural one.

    Like

    November 12, 2014 at 11:28 am

  22. I’m really enjoying your photography Ron… There’s some really great pictures.

    Like

    November 12, 2014 at 1:26 pm

  23. RMW

    Wish I had the guts to do street photography… not that my photos would be anywhere as good as yours but it would be nice to be brave enough to try it.

    Like

    November 12, 2014 at 7:40 pm

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

