Image

Wine Country Portraits

Middelvlei Winery Associate

Middelvlei Winery Associate

8 Photos in This Gallery

The South African wine country is only about an hour’s drive beyond Cape Town’s borders.  These photo’s are from tastings at four wineries. At Murati the port tasting was accompanied with chocolate.  Casper was our knowledgeable guide for the day.  We had a wonderful lunch together at Delheim after which Casper drove us back to Cape Town in his off road modified pickup truck.  All of these were taken with a Nikon D800 and 28mm f/1.8 G.

39 responses

  1. These pics are really awesome! Great post!

    Like

    May 1, 2014 at 8:14 am

  2. Beautiful Pics……. I liked the Path of Bliss most……..Very apt names

    Like

    May 1, 2014 at 8:33 am

    • The Path of Bliss was at the place where they served chocolate with wine.

      Like

      May 1, 2014 at 8:36 am

      • Ron…you must have enjoyed the combination then… Well I enjoyed the ambiance by looking that picture.

        Like

        May 1, 2014 at 8:41 am

  3. Bonjour Ron

    As always super pictures – but this time about the redstuff – with a little white plonk thrown in.

    Regards

    from a very envious

    Dan

    Like

    May 1, 2014 at 8:59 am

  4. Wonderful set; easy and subtle.

    Like

    May 1, 2014 at 10:11 am

  5. One lens, awesome

    Like

    May 1, 2014 at 3:12 pm

    • Thank you. The other one that I use a lot is a 24-120 f/4 VR zoom.

      Like

      May 1, 2014 at 3:26 pm

      • Nice. I don’t like carrying lots of gear either

        Like

        May 2, 2014 at 6:09 am

        • I don’t own any of the big f/2.8 pro zooms.

          Like

          May 2, 2014 at 6:47 am

        • Me neither. I only use a 20-35 f3.5 a 50 f1.4 and 85 1.8. On my M I use the 22 (35mm equivalent). I owned the 70-200 2.8 but I never used it. I find it better to rent what I need for a specific job.

          Like

          May 2, 2014 at 7:24 am

        • What’s an M?

          Like

          May 2, 2014 at 9:01 am

        • Canon M or their mirrorless camera. Good for traveling light. I can use all my standard lenses on it.

          Like

          May 2, 2014 at 1:03 pm

        • Cool.

          Like

          May 2, 2014 at 1:05 pm

  6. I have always wanted to go to South Africa…and now you tell me they make wine. Boom. Done. ;oP Those cobwebs are captivating!

    Like

    May 1, 2014 at 4:07 pm

  7. A lovely set of photos. Path to bliss is very nice but I think my favourite is the cobwebs. I dread to think of the size of the 8 legged beasty that made those!

    Like

    May 1, 2014 at 4:13 pm

    • You would have loved Casper’s truck. It was all fitted out for driving around in the African bush.

      Like

      May 1, 2014 at 4:15 pm

      • Yes, some well used and abused but very capable vehicles (and drivers) down there 🙂

        Like

        May 1, 2014 at 4:18 pm

        • It was a Japanese pickup, I can’t remember which brand. They go in caravans. I suppose that is to pull each other out, have lots of spares and mechanical talent. It doesn’t get any wilder than Africa. For someone with your interests, that would be a “to die for” experience.

          Like

          May 1, 2014 at 4:21 pm

        • Yes, I would love the wilderness but I’m not keen on the heat. I think I’d prefer the wilds of Iceland or Scandinavia as it is a bit cooler 🙂

          Like

          May 1, 2014 at 4:24 pm

        • Don’t fall through a crack in the ice and find a buried space ship, LOL.

          Like

          May 1, 2014 at 4:27 pm

        • 🙂

          Like

          May 1, 2014 at 4:28 pm

  8. great pics 🙂

    Like

    May 1, 2014 at 6:09 pm

  9. great series…fun place to visit!

    Like

    May 1, 2014 at 6:39 pm

  10. LB

    Love these photos … visiting wineries are such fun!

    Like

    May 3, 2014 at 10:53 am

  11. Had to look at this again, taken right in my backyard, familiar places.

    Like

    May 22, 2014 at 2:09 am

  12. Reblogged this on Ron Scubadiver's Wild Life and commented:

    To view 8 photos in the gallery navigate to the original post. Click on the clock icon from the Reader, or use the “View Original” link if you see one.

    Like

    April 3, 2015 at 9:07 am

  13. What a delightful adventure and memory you can savor over again in your photos! “)

    Like

    April 3, 2015 at 10:50 am

  14. Lovely post!
    We wish you a great Easter!
    Best regards from the Four of us,
    Dina, Klausbernd, Siri and Selma

    Like

    April 3, 2015 at 11:05 am

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

