Image

Downtown Kona

Kona Wetlands

Kona Wetlands

15 Photos in This Gallery

The Wetlands were right outside my hotel room balcony.  Kona Seawall was taken from the same location where the three girls were sitting. The Mercedes was restored and had a bright red interior.

The pier in Kona is a center of activity.  People hang out there or swim on a small sandy beach.  Every evening the outrigger canoe teams practice with the men and women alternating days so that the canoes never sit idle.  One man takes a daily swim with his clothes on, makes a mud ball and stuffs it in a drain pipe when he is done.

On the third Sunday of each month there is a street fair in Kona where vendors set up stands and sell their goods, mostly artsy stuff. Photographers may wish to note that while two subjects are not looking at the camera, they were in on it before I shot.

36 responses

  1. sweet memories

    Like

    April 29, 2013 at 1:54 pm

  2. Nice shots !!! and Thank you for the following us!!!!

    Like

    April 29, 2013 at 3:38 pm

  3. Wow, that first picture is gorgeous

    Like

    April 29, 2013 at 8:41 pm

  4. New look for your Blog? I am liking the large font. Good for my old eyes 🙂

    Like

    April 30, 2013 at 1:58 am

    • I saw a couple of blogs using Ryu and was very impressed. Occasionally the background color is a bit too strong, and many posts had to be edited, but I am pleased. The large font should be a big help on small tablets.

      Like

      April 30, 2013 at 7:20 am

  5. I have an uncle about a half hour from Kona, it was like a dream to be there. Your pics are amazing, I felt like I was there again! Thanks for sharing and as always, stunning pictures:)

    Like

    April 30, 2013 at 8:23 am

  6. Beautiful Shots! I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! 🙂

    Like

    April 30, 2013 at 8:33 am

    • Thank you, but I don’t participate in awards. It’s a matter of personal choice.

      Like

      April 30, 2013 at 8:43 am

  7. gorgeous photos…especially the Kona Wetlands and the Seawall…brilliant

    Like

    April 30, 2013 at 9:26 am

  8. Nice new format. Great photos.

    Like

    April 30, 2013 at 12:05 pm

    • I have been having theme envy since seeing Ryu in use by other photographers. I t just took me a while to understand how to deal with it’s quirks.

      Like

      April 30, 2013 at 12:12 pm

      • Looks like a good choice. Glad it’s working out for you, and isn’t too much of a hassle.

        Like

        April 30, 2013 at 12:34 pm

        • To really get the colored backgrounds, most posts had to be edited, but it only takes a minute or two for each. One nice feature, excerpts, I am a bit afraid to use because it does not work on most other themes.

          Like

          April 30, 2013 at 1:03 pm

  9. Wonderful…
    …with the garishly weather we haver over here it really is a sight for sore eyes.

    Like

    April 30, 2013 at 1:29 pm

    • Thanks. After I saw how Ryu looked on your blog, I just had to have it.

      Like

      April 30, 2013 at 2:48 pm

  10. I have nominated you for the Shine On Award! Check out the details on my blog: http://stylesalvation.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/shine-on-award/

    Like

    April 30, 2013 at 11:23 pm

    • Danna, thank you for thinking of me, but I don’t participate in any of the awards by choice.

      Like

      May 1, 2013 at 9:32 am

  11. Wow, this looks like a fairytail! Love the Kona Wetlands and seawall a lot! 😉

    Like

    May 1, 2013 at 2:53 am

    • Erica, that town is not reality. My favorite part was being able to look out over the Pacific ocean while eating dinner.

      Like

      May 1, 2013 at 9:34 am

  12. Paved streets, with traffic lanes…saves on the flip-flops. Drivers here would hate all that confiment. Love your photos. Brings back fond memories of my time in Hawaii while I suffer through another Costa Rican summer.
    On my Way…

    Like

    May 3, 2013 at 9:05 am

    • It will be hot here in Houston in a few days. Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

      May 3, 2013 at 9:07 am

      • Houston is just a big airport, isn’t it? 🙂 That’s all I see while we transfer planes to visit the states.
        On my Way…

        Like

        May 3, 2013 at 9:21 am

        • You could say that about London or Frankfort.

          Like

          May 3, 2013 at 9:44 am

        • When my lazy husband wakes up and takes me to Paris or Geneva I will be able to.
          On my Way…

          Like

          May 3, 2013 at 9:55 am

  13. Ron I LOVE Kona – go there every year. Going over in Feb 2015 – would love to meet you!

    Like

    November 20, 2014 at 10:37 am

  14. Very nice series.

    Like

    November 20, 2014 at 1:17 pm

  15. Beautiful wetland…i can play there forever

    Like

    November 21, 2014 at 12:39 pm

  16. Nice pics as always. The weird fruit is Jack fruit. Quite an interesting thing. 🙂

    Like

    November 21, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    • Yeah, this jack fruit thing is popular. Thank you for commenting.

      Like

      November 21, 2014 at 7:47 pm

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

