Image

Austin is Weird

Fire Breathing Bartender

Fire Breathing Bartender

10 Photos in This Gallery

These photos were taken on a Friday evening on Austin’s famous 6th street.  If you never heard of it, the place is lined with bars offering cheap drinks, live music and hip young patrons.  Some of these people were on a a scavenger hunt that was really more of a pub crawl.  They were rowdy, crazy, drunk, and a few collected a bit of my hair as part of their treasure.  I have a lot of good photos left to post, so stay tuned.  Did halloween come early this year?

73 responses

  1. Wow, Austin sure seems like a fun place to visit!

    Like

    May 4, 2013 at 5:11 pm

  2. Try spending time in any UK University town or city during freshers!

    Like

    May 4, 2013 at 5:11 pm

  3. Need to load up the car now

    Like

    May 4, 2013 at 8:16 pm

    • On my way back to Houston in the morning.

      Like

      May 4, 2013 at 11:45 pm

      • next time im in texas im hitting up austin. i look forward to your next stop and the photos to come

        Like

        May 5, 2013 at 8:42 am

        • Chicago is coming up, but interesting things happen around Houston too.

          Like

          May 5, 2013 at 8:46 am

        • Can’t wait to see, I love the weird and different

          Like

          May 5, 2013 at 10:18 am

        • Probably tomorrow.

          Like

          May 5, 2013 at 10:24 am

  4. Visited Austin last fall for the Austin Film Festival and was amazed by the beauty of the city and the surreal nature of 6th Street…was there over a weekend and witnessed the sidewalks roll up as the students from University of Texas arrived to party hardy. Wow, what a spectacle. And my favourite location: The Bikini Bar!

    Like

    May 4, 2013 at 8:47 pm

  5. Fire breathing bar tender and an awesome bar. Great pics again.

    Like

    May 4, 2013 at 11:59 pm

  6. I like that flaming bar 🙂

    Like

    May 5, 2013 at 3:47 am

  7. I had a crazy night out on 6th street too! Ended up with a guy madly running down the street being chased by the police amongst lots of other things..I think it’s always pretty nuts there!!

    Like

    May 5, 2013 at 4:21 am

  8. Thanks for liking my post Ron. Your photographs are beautiful. I’ll come back again to look further.

    Like

    May 5, 2013 at 5:43 am

  9. lol…looks like everyone was having a good time!

    Like

    May 5, 2013 at 9:24 am

  10. reminds me of Key West back in the day, before $$$ developers deformed it

    Like

    May 5, 2013 at 9:43 am

  11. Indie Abroad

    Brilliant photos! Have you gotten to check out East Austin yet?

    Like

    May 5, 2013 at 11:25 am

    • If East Austin needs checking out, I will have to go back there and do it.

      Like

      May 5, 2013 at 3:54 pm

  12. The fire/bartender shot is great! Way to capture a moment.

    Like

    May 5, 2013 at 1:41 pm

  13. misswink

    I miss my home…. the ATX is seriously where it’s at! Can’t wait to move back one day! 🙂 Love the photos – made me think of great times with fantastic friends!

    Like

    May 5, 2013 at 7:11 pm

  14. Love the fire breathing bartender photo. It’s real great! 😉

    Like

    May 6, 2013 at 11:40 am

    • Thank you Erica, more to come.

      Like

      May 6, 2013 at 11:45 am

      • Can’t wait, but I will have to! I’m going out to photograph in a forrest in Breda. Hope the weather will be fine without rain! 😉

        Like

        May 7, 2013 at 12:24 pm

        • That sounds like a treat. I hope you can find some weird trees.

          Like

          May 7, 2013 at 12:55 pm

        • I did find some weird trees! I will post them as soon as I have found the time in getting these photos onto my computer. I’m a bit busy lately… 😉

          Like

          May 8, 2013 at 3:45 am

        • Let’s see how this influences your next batch of paintings.

          Like

          May 8, 2013 at 7:23 am

        • As soon as I found some time to visit my little studio I will see the influences (or not… 😉 )

          Like

          May 9, 2013 at 8:21 am

        • Have a great day, Erica.

          Like

          May 9, 2013 at 9:11 am

        • You too Ron!
          I’m almost finished with my job for today… I already have a beer on the side… Hahaha!!! 😉 Well, that’s because it’s a holiday except for me working, most of the people don’t have to today…

          Like

          May 9, 2013 at 9:32 am

        • That is the good life. a beer in one hand and a brush in the other.

          Like

          May 9, 2013 at 10:08 am

        • Too bad it’s not a brush but a phone! I have to send some text messages for a game people are playing in Amsterdam…

          Like

          May 9, 2013 at 11:13 am

  15. Looks like everyone is having a ball, not weird at all.

    Like

    May 6, 2013 at 12:42 pm

  16. You most definitely caught the essence of the weird but wonderful Austin in this post and in part 2. I hope you had a great time! It looks like you did

    Like

    May 6, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    • Your B&W’s are very good. I am on a color kick right now, but there quite a few B&W conversions around here.

      Like

      May 6, 2013 at 5:31 pm

      • I definitely need to shoot more color. And I definitely need to do more traveling too. Your work is inspiring

        Like

        May 6, 2013 at 5:33 pm

  17. and it must stay weird. On one of my first trips there, I fell off a stage while trying to play bass. But the weirdest had to be the country western drag show

    Like

    May 6, 2013 at 11:48 pm

    • I would have loved to shoot a C&W drag show.

      Like

      May 7, 2013 at 7:03 am

      • It was perhaps one of the most fun nights I ever spent in a club…and am straight

        Like

        May 7, 2013 at 9:00 am

        • I have a shot of some convincing drag queens, in the header “North America”, drop down to “California” then scroll to ISO: The Perfect Wine.

          Like

          May 7, 2013 at 9:03 am

  18. Looks like another world. 🙂

    Like

    May 7, 2013 at 6:56 am

  19. They don’t sell a t-shirt that says “Keep Austin Weird” for nothin’! Yeah, they own it. Haven’t been to 6th Street in years (not my scene these days). But Austin is a really cool city. Cheers!

    Like

    May 12, 2013 at 4:32 pm

    • Thank you. Portland, Oregon tries to make the same claim to weirdness, but it does not come close.

      Like

      May 12, 2013 at 4:34 pm

  20. Being a Texas native, Austin is definitely one of the nicest cities there is. Weird, but awesome. There is always something fun to do. Thank you for the like on my post.

    Like

    May 22, 2013 at 9:44 am

    • You are welcome and thanks for ther comment. Sometimes I say Austin is what California could have been, if they did not screw it up.

      Like

      May 22, 2013 at 9:46 am

  21. Growing up in San Antonio, Austin was always a drink destination. If you haven’t been here your missing out. The city is very much alive and very much awesome. Great post Thank you!

    Like

    May 23, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    • I really like San Antonio too. Time for some enchiladas on the riverwalk.

      Like

      May 23, 2013 at 7:33 pm

  22. Austin is home………………….I like the weird part. Love your photos.
    Thanks again for sharing.

    Like

    May 25, 2013 at 9:18 pm

  23. Weird? Hmmm, you say that like it is a negative thing. Considering what is “normal” in so much of society, I prefer weird! 🙂

    Like

    May 26, 2013 at 8:48 am

    • There happens to be a saying in Austin, “Keep Austin Weird”. I don’t mean it negatively.

      Like

      May 26, 2013 at 8:53 am

  24. I’ve always heard Austin is a weird place but I’ve never been. Thanks for showing us what goes on down there 🙂 I look forward to reading more from you.

    Also thanks for liking my blog post on Sane & Satisfied Blog (http://bit.ly/10TEHhF).

    Like

    May 28, 2013 at 3:22 pm

  25. LaLindaArtStudio

    One person’s weird is another person’s wonderful! My son lives in San Antonio, but I have only visited Austin once other than the airport. I’m originally a wacko from Waco, but I was California raised.

    Like

    May 28, 2013 at 3:36 pm

    • Thank you for stopping by. Austin is definitely worth a visit. Wait until fall when UT is going strong.

      Like

      May 28, 2013 at 3:39 pm

  26. Ron, I have lived here in Austin for almost 30 years and can’t imagine going back to California (except to look at the ocean), and weird is the way it must be. But it’s a weird that makes you glad to be part of it.
    I need to post some photos from Eeyores Birthday……………now, there is weird~!

    Like

    May 30, 2013 at 1:09 pm

  27. Austin is a place I’ve wanted to visit for a long time. Will have to make it happen in the next year or so. But my interest is seeing the bats…

    Like

    June 2, 2013 at 3:04 am

  28. Ron, you’re getting into some Very Interesting Places.

    Like

    December 22, 2014 at 12:41 pm

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

