Image

Copenhagen

Nyhavn

Nyhavn

10 Photos in This Gallery

A successful blog must give its readers something they want.  The most successful blogs I follow provide useful advice of some kind.  Food blogs with good recipes do very well.  We all like to eat.  Some photography blogs provide advice on how to take better pictures, some aspect of the process like using Photoshop, or gear reviews.

I sit here and post the best possible photographs that I can produce.  Many are a product of my extensive travels which would be difficult for most people to duplicate, so I am certainly not giving advice by example.  What is it that one derives while looking at a bunch of web sized photographs?  Probably there is an entertainment factor, but I hope there is more.  Is it food for thought or some emotional reaction?  One follower tells me viewing my work provides relief from chronic pain.  Please tell me, what do you receive?

100 responses

  1. With your pics I can travel the world and stare at the diverse tatoos, skimpy, bathing suits, party hangouts and gorgeous sights without tipping the waitor. lol. Thanks!

    Like

    August 9, 2013 at 8:27 am

  2. Wow, 11 Asian tourists without camera phones clicking away!?! What a strange land this Denmark is…’:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    August 9, 2013 at 8:33 am

    • Their phones were probably sitting in a pile in front of the guy who was supposed to be taking their picture while I stole this one.

      Like

      August 9, 2013 at 8:40 am

  3. Honestly, as I don’t travel anymore, your beautiful pictures help me to escape ! And your “tattoo” images “tease” me !!!

    Like

    August 9, 2013 at 8:45 am

  4. Been at all the places in and around. Together with the old town (Gamla Stan) in Stockholm Copenhagen is my favorite Scandinavian city! …. But I never made pictures over there …… 😉

    Like

    August 9, 2013 at 9:00 am

  5. Fashion Mayan mentioned “tattoos” … well somewhere along Nyhavn is a well known tattooist who has tattooed several celebrities from around the globe ….

    Like

    August 9, 2013 at 9:03 am

  6. Your photos are food for my mind and soul. I get to go places that I normally would not go if only for a few minutes. I get to see folks from all different parts of the world and realize that why they may look or dress a bit different from me, they, with their smiles bring a smile to my face and warmth to my soul.

    Like

    August 9, 2013 at 9:07 am

    • Thank you. From the comments I receive it appears that the travel aspect of this blog is quite popular.

      Like

      August 9, 2013 at 9:09 am

  7. An Artist at work and to see the world as it is.

    Like

    August 9, 2013 at 9:17 am

  8. What I first respond to in your photos is the energy of the street scenes, the sensuality of the colors and the composition – but since I am a contemporary abstract artist I am often looking at photos – anyone’s photos – with an appreciation for the abstract qualities I see in them. The movement, the lights and darks, the focal area, the degree of impact they have on me, etc. Even random photos of people provide me with info that is useful in my art. THANKS! Jo

    Liked by 1 person

    August 9, 2013 at 9:31 am

    • Wow, Jo that is very interesting. You may have noticed that lately I am producing more images that are abstract or have abstract qualities. Color saturation has also been increased. This latter factor was influenced my Steve McCurry’s “Last Roll of Kodachrome” project.

      Like

      August 9, 2013 at 9:45 am

  9. RMW

    First of all, your photos are very professional technically (which I envy) but that is not the most important element for me when looking at anybody’s photos. You have a really great eye for composition and a sense of place. You are able to find images that tell a story or allow my imagination to take flight. I interpret your photos as art (including the people photos) rather than snapshots of a moment… although I have absolutely nothing against snapshots, I take those myself for a specific purpose, but your photos are several steps beyond. Keep ’em coming! .

    Like

    August 9, 2013 at 10:11 am

    • Thank you very much because what you describe is exactly what I am trying to do.

      Like

      August 9, 2013 at 12:15 pm

  10. Palimpsest

    Your photos tell stories about people and places I’m never likely to encounter, so your blog gives me an insight into the world. It also makes me think about how I can improve my own practise by making me ask myself why I have differing degrees of emotional response to the images you post. So many of your images make me happy, some make me laugh, and others make me calm and contemplative.

    Liked by 1 person

    August 9, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    • Thank you very much. I believe capturing emotions or something that evokes emotions is very important in art. It is harder to do with web size images and I am planning on making some prints this fall so I have something larger.

      Liked by 1 person

      August 9, 2013 at 12:17 pm

  11. Beauty, movement, a view through a thoughtful, artistic lens, exposure to other lives, humor–thank you for all of these gifts. You, and they, spark my own creativity. Cheers!

    Like

    August 9, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    • Thank you Sirena. I must say the feedback I have been receiving today is far beyond what I expected.

      Like

      August 9, 2013 at 12:19 pm

  12. I love your photos for the insight into other worlds – so thank you! 🙂

    Like

    August 9, 2013 at 2:46 pm

  13. I love your photos for the insight into other worlds – so thank you! 🙂

    Like

    August 9, 2013 at 2:46 pm

  14. Malin H

    Your photographs often give me a smile and I love your way of showing places in several different ways. 🙂 Thanks Ron!

    Like

    August 9, 2013 at 3:15 pm

    • Thank you Malin. Your photography shows me a combination of the female form with nature in a unique style. From it I get a sense of wonder.

      Like

      August 9, 2013 at 3:26 pm

      • Malin H

        Oh thanks Ron! You make me smile 🙂

        Like

        August 10, 2013 at 1:09 am

  15. At least stay yourself.
    If I need to know where to eat, I’ll ask the people around.

    Like

    August 9, 2013 at 6:32 pm

    • Staying myself is something I am good at. If you want to visit Houston, I can tell you where I go to eat.

      Like

      August 9, 2013 at 9:21 pm

  16. I visit here for a number of reasons, first to see places I’ve never been through your eyes…to see how you compose shots, angles, perspective,etc…I’ve been taking photos since Oct. 2012 so just looking at awesome photos such as yours helps me to learn the art and yes…I do feel photography is an art form! Many of your photos simply evoke emotions in me…nothing stronger than that draw. I only follow those who afford me the opportunity to learn or whose photos offer an emotional draw…with your blog I also have the opportunity to travel!

    Like

    August 9, 2013 at 7:22 pm

    • Heather, I did photography in the 60’s and abandoned it until 2008. My current style developed in mid 2011, but is evolving. Thank you for your many comments on my blog.

      Like

      August 9, 2013 at 9:23 pm

      • Seriously…you abandoned it…but then I guess life happens! I can see changes in your style just in the time I’ve been visiting…you are welcome, I enjoy your work!

        Like

        August 10, 2013 at 3:58 pm

  17. Your photos show me what’s possible; in art, in photography, in travel, in story telling; in living…… and I also enjoy the thought and quality that goes in to your blog and each post.

    Like

    August 9, 2013 at 10:52 pm

    • Thank you. I need to think of something interesting to go with the photographs in my next post.

      Like

      August 10, 2013 at 7:03 am

  18. What do I get? Most of all, I receive inspiration. There is a kind of energy in your photos that is contagious. I especially enjoy seeing the way in which you capture people, a subject that I consciously avoid photographing. I am on my own personal photography journey, a kind of journey of self-discovery, and it is instructive to look at the world through the eyes of a more experienced photographer, someone who seems comfortable with the style and approach he has adopted.

    Like

    August 10, 2013 at 5:23 am

    • Mike I really appreciate that. Photography is always a journey. A very good glamour and boudoir photographer I know told me she could not believe what she learned in the last year, and she was great at it a year ago.

      Like

      August 10, 2013 at 7:06 am

  19. Why do I like looking at your pictures? Through your pictures I travel to places I’ll probably never be able to visit due to health issues. I like your perspective because you always find the interesting aspect of a place. Just so you know, I don’t always comment because sometimes a picture or pictures affect me in a way that goes beyond words. Thanks so much for sharing your adventures. 😀

    Like

    August 10, 2013 at 6:38 am

    • Thank you Jackie. The idea of traveling by viewing photography appears to be a theme among those who follow my blog. I have another little adventure coming up very soon.

      Like

      August 10, 2013 at 7:01 am

      • Awesome! I look forward to it. 😀

        Like

        August 10, 2013 at 7:05 am

  20. Thank you. South africa was nothing short of amazing.

    Like

    August 10, 2013 at 7:02 am

  21. Beautiful photographs! 🙂

    Like

    August 15, 2013 at 5:03 am

  22. Ron–yes you have created a blog that satisfies. when I think about the handful of blogs I really love, it’s that you can see just one part of the blogger’s identity clearly and consistently, and that different themes reappear in the blog from time to time. I think this is true of your blog. Your photography is beautiful, it’s varied, but it’s rooted in Houston, you love to travel and photograph people. But happily it’s not just about portraiture–you do a good job of showing the human scene, and the glorious world we live in–the best thing we can do is renew and refresh that sense of appreciation. Your blog helps! Thank you.

    Like

    August 16, 2013 at 7:51 am

    • Thank you for making my day a whole lot better.

      Like

      August 16, 2013 at 8:04 am

      • same here!

        Like

        August 16, 2013 at 8:08 am

        • I am hoping to get back to Chicago this fall before the cold weather sets in.

          Like

          August 16, 2013 at 8:11 am

        • We’re having some beautiful weather right now. I have a feeling it’s going to be a gorgeous fall.

          Like

          August 16, 2013 at 8:29 am

        • Sweet.

          Like

          August 16, 2013 at 9:24 am

  23. I found your blog because you had posted some fantastic photos from South Africa, where I had a great time and was happy to relive it through your work. I envied you for the great photos you took and the great skills and creativity you have. You have a a great way of combining the informative with the creative and artistic.

    In my blog, I try to write about what I’ve learned and discovered that might interest others. I used to be a newspaper reporter and did some photography. I come to your blog to see what you’ve discovered, which is always fresh and exciting.

    Like

    August 18, 2013 at 2:59 pm

  24. Inspiration

    Like

    August 24, 2013 at 6:19 pm

  25. Seeing your photos shows me the world which I won’t be able to visit. So it’s a real treat watching it through your eyes.

    Like

    August 28, 2013 at 10:47 am

  26. John S

    I followed a link from the Cafe over here. I too am a photographer and love to see how others approach a scene. To see how the tell the story and not just take the record shots. I knw the time and effect it takes to get to this level and most think it is just your camera but we know different. I travel a lot as well but mostly ConUS but hope to be able to break free internationally soon. Your pictures will help me decide where to go first.

    Like

    August 29, 2013 at 7:20 am

  27. i read your blog, and many others, to gain a better understanding of the world and travel vicariously. You take excellent, interesting photos. You have a high quality website amongst a sea of bad blogs.

    Like

    August 29, 2013 at 12:55 pm

  28. I’m a newbie here and I can’t help taking my eyes of this large world beyond my boarders that you’ve brought in. First I thanked you for liking my post which is always pleasant as long as I’m not mature in blogging, but now I want to thank you for the possibility of reading your blog because it’s like diving into a completely different world… happy to be one of your readers!

    Like

    September 1, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    • Thank you, that just made this hot Sunday afternoon a little bit better.

      Like

      September 1, 2013 at 2:40 pm

      • Here it’s the first autumn cool night 🙂

        Like

        September 1, 2013 at 2:44 pm

        • That first cool night is at least a month away.

          Like

          September 1, 2013 at 2:46 pm

        • Well,in Russia autumn is supposed to start from the 1st of September, I’ve heard in other countries seasons start from the 22nd day. sending you a cool breeze of Russia, hold on ))

          Like

          September 1, 2013 at 2:49 pm

        • I thought Russia was pretty cool last month.

          Like

          September 1, 2013 at 2:49 pm

        • well, if you visited it only from the Baltic side, it was, but in my place (Voronezh) it’s been pretty hot until this weekend. the country is vast…

          Like

          September 1, 2013 at 2:54 pm

        • Vast indeed…

          Like

          September 1, 2013 at 3:00 pm

  29. To be honest, I’m not a fan of portrait’s pictures, yours or others, call me antisocial (lol) but I don’t want people to invade the nature. I do appreciate all your work but I love those pictures which can show me the world, unaltered.

    Like

    September 3, 2013 at 10:41 am

  30. I wish I could travel all the time. But I can’t, so while I’m at home I enjoy traveling through other people’s blogs and photographs.

    Like

    September 8, 2013 at 11:50 am

    • I don’t travel all the time, it just seems that way.

      Like

      September 8, 2013 at 3:43 pm

  31. I echo many of the previous comments. I am an amateur photographer, have been posting photos of mine from here in the Midwest and from my travels (mostly the US and Europe) for a couple of years now (my readership consists mostly of friends and family and I would like to reach a wider audience). One of my principal reasons/pleasures in seeking posts here and elsewhere is to look at composition and technique in an attempt to improve my own images. I also enjoy vicariously visiting the places the authors have been; some places I have also been and others I have not. Especially for those places I have been, I like to see how others see the same sights I did. I tend to photograph landscapes, but I appreciate having people in the photos because they say so much about place. From bikini clad girls on the beach to nuns on the streets of Rome, the people of the region are probably the most important component of travel – and this is something I really need to work on. Kudos to you and I look forward to getting through all of your past posts as well as posts yet to come.

    Like

    October 17, 2013 at 11:21 pm

    • Thank you Al, I hope you are able to do more more people shots.

      Like

      October 18, 2013 at 3:24 am

  32. Reblogged this on Ron Scubadiver's Wild Life and commented:

    To view the gallery of 10 Photos either click on the clock icon in the reader or “View Original” if you see it.

    Like

    March 5, 2015 at 8:44 am

  33. You transport me to places I didn’t even know I wanted to see. Truly lovely work Ron. Keep it up!

    Like

    March 5, 2015 at 9:21 am

  34. Beautiful photos, Ron. Happy people living there. Loved the picture of the castle although the ships in the yard was my very favorite. Great shots! Thank you as always for sharing with us.

    Like

    March 5, 2015 at 10:04 am

  35. Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    Awesome photography!!

    Like

    March 5, 2015 at 10:28 am

  36. You painted a diverse and colorful picture of Copenhagen, Ron, with your truly awesome photos. I like them all, but especially the overview of the town square and clouds; and the blue Unicef shirts.

    Like

    March 5, 2015 at 11:27 am

  37. Also great eating!

    Like

    March 5, 2015 at 1:47 pm

  38. Great location for photography!

    Like

    March 5, 2015 at 4:27 pm

  39. You produce well shot, diverse photos that are quite interesting. I’d guess that you have a good way with people to get many of the photos that you do. Cheers to you Ron.

    Like

    March 5, 2015 at 4:30 pm

  40. Your blog gives me a view of the world from your eyes — an entirely unique and different perspective than mine. It’s always interesting to see what you choose to photograph and how you portray the world in general. Also, you photograph people a lot and I rarely do, so I love seeing who shows up in your galleries. It encourages me to bring more people into my own photography. And I love your colorful compositions/reflections in water. I’m obsessed with color, so I find those photos really beautiful, like abstract art. And finally, I love that you post consistently. It’s like hearing from a friend when I see you in my reader. I wish I could keep such a constant schedule, but work (and travel!) interrupts. Overall, thanks for always being inspiring.

    Like

    March 6, 2015 at 1:24 am

  41. I love to look at your photos and imagine being there. I love to travel too and also take lots of pictures. Your pictures remind me of places I’ve been and make me want to return, and they show me places I’d like to go sometime in the future. I also like the abstracts, they’re just interesting to look at.

    Like

    March 6, 2015 at 2:59 am

  42. I get visual entertainment and visual education, I get to travel to places I will never be going to in person and experience their cultures through your eyes, I get to appreciate your art and your photographic abilities. Color or B&W it’s all good 🙂 Now I’m trying to figure out why in the world you come to my blog 😀

    Like

    March 6, 2015 at 10:39 pm

    • Theanne, you are so funny. I have to rewrite my “About” page as a result of comments I received over the last few days.

      Like

      March 7, 2015 at 12:23 am

  43. Ron,

    A wonderful set of pictures with the colourful waterfront being my favourite.

    Ian

    Like

    March 7, 2015 at 1:48 am

    • Thank you, the waterfront is a famous tourist destination.

      Like

      March 7, 2015 at 7:32 am

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

