Image

Let Your Inner Child Run Wild

 

Wheels Keep Turning

Wheels Keep Turning

There are 8 Photos in This Gallery and a longer message than usual.

Instead of posting a silly graphic comparing the traffic on my blog to the Louvre, I will try to give a meaningful year end message.   My blog is four years old this month.  During the first year I had very little contact with other WordPress.Com bloggers.  The beginning of 2013 saw a major shift in viewers of this blog from a certain large photo forum that I no longer frequent, to other WordPress.Com bloggers and other different sources.  I went from about 20 followers to several thousand in a very short period of time, although the growth has since leveled off.  During 2014 I regret several very active bloggers who followed my blog stopped blogging.  In some cases I know why, perhaps the others became bored or worn out.  About one third of the blogs listed as following mine are inactive, in my estimation.  During this time I have become friendly with several other bloggers and have contact with them via Facebook or email.

My view is the best use for a blog is to publish original content.  If you utilize the content of others in your blog, please be careful to stay within the boundaries of fair use, public domain  or creative commons material.  Everything here is copyrighted except for one image (out of over 2,700) that is creative commons.  I had a few instances of misappropriation this year which is annoying because I give permission for use without payment of fees frequently.

My photography has changed a lot over the last four years.  In a shift from completely candid street photography there is a lot more interaction with the subjects now.  There has been an expansion of genres into abstract and architectural subjects.  Travel photography continues to look less like typical travel photography and more like it was done by some living in the area.

To all of you who have visited my blog or even liked my posts from the reader, thank you.  Please return in 2015.  I already have three big trips planned for the first quarter.  Happy new year to all, and let your inner child run wild.

 

 

67 responses

  1. Thanks Ron and Happy New Year to you too and congrats on your blog. I enjoy the interaction but I’ve had inklings of feelings that the “disappeared bloggers” feel. Sometimes it gets hard to keep it up, especially when life gets busy. But it ebbs and flows and I always enjoy WP the most. I always look forward to your images because they are so different from mine. We are all teachers and students!

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 9:51 am

    • A couple of the ones who quit ran into various major life issues. Sometimes I wonder if it is worth trying to keep it up too. The last 8 weeks have not witnessed much new photography, hence the large number of reblogs and several images revived from my archives.

      Like

      December 31, 2014 at 9:54 am

      • I think there is a true addictive quality to this. Some people post way too much imho. I feel oversaturated. I’m thinking perhaps of cutting back to only a few times a week myself. Life is all about balance for me.

        Like

        December 31, 2014 at 9:56 am

        • I have changed a bit. There are fewer images per post, although I may combine them later. I get more mileage that way. Really, I don’t have that much else to do.

          Liked by 1 person

          December 31, 2014 at 10:30 am

  2. I’m one of those bloggers you found your way to more recently, and I am very glad, have enjoyed your posts. Happy New Year to you.

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 10:14 am

  3. Three cheers for original content, which is why I so despise the WP reblogging thing. Shame on WP in that area. You have an excellent photo site Ron, looking forward to next year! I agree with Laura’s comment on posting too much – I am guilty in that department. When I can return to work, that will change… Happy new Year!

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 10:15 am

    • I do allow reblogs, but you can get rid of the button now, if you want to.

      Like

      December 31, 2014 at 10:31 am

  4. Happy New Year to you Ron. I really look forward to looking at your post on a daily basis.

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 10:17 am

  5. but dont steal all the cookies!

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 10:25 am

    • There are no cookies in the house and I want some! Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

      December 31, 2014 at 10:32 am

  6. Best to you Ron in 2015 – thanks for bringing us along on all your adventures – your images never disappoint.

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 10:33 am

    • Thank you Robert. Thank you for the tours of the abandoned buildings of the Northeast. I will fly over 25,000 air miles in the first quarter of next year, and have not planned the rest yet.

      Liked by 1 person

      December 31, 2014 at 10:42 am

  7. Happy New Year!
    I look forward to more of images of your travels in 2015.
    ~Steve

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 11:12 am

  8. Happy New Year to you Ron 🙂

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 11:26 am

  9. Wishing you the best in the New Year 2015,

    Vijay

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 11:29 am

  10. Happy New Year and i look forward to you photography in 2015.

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 12:11 pm

  11. Ron, Happy New Year. I particularly enjoy the grouping of images that you put together. One or two outliers in the group add a bit of additional spice. I’ll look forward to seeing what comes from the 25,000 miles of travel in the first quarter of 2015.

    Liked by 1 person

    December 31, 2014 at 12:37 pm

  12. Awesome happy new year

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 12:51 pm

  13. Thank you for liking “The Winter Wanderer” and “Happy New Year.” I enjoyed this thoughtful post. It is a lot better than that WP annual report. I am sorry to hear about the misappropriation of images you experienced this year. I think photographers and other artists deserve full credit for their work. That is why I make such an effort to prominently display photo credits for the images I use on my blog with the exception of photos that I take myself. At times I wonder how long I can keep blogging too, but the interesting people I meet online through my blogs keep me going. However, I might be open to taking a blogging vacation again in the future.

    I have enjoyed looking at your photos over the past year or two, and I look forward to seeing more of your work. Happy New Year! 🙂

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 1:02 pm

  14. I just LOVE Spidey, Ron. What a cute boy! And as for 2015, may all the very best in Life come your way! You deserve so much success and more. Above all else, don’t forget to let the “little boy” in you come out to play! (smile) Love, Amy

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 2:18 pm

  15. Great post and a Happy New Year to you too Ron. I look forward to more great photos in 2015 🙂

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 3:30 pm

  16. Reblogged this on S.O.U.L. S-P-A-C-E and commented:
    Happy New Year Ron!

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 4:33 pm

  17. Wonderful message and, as always, fascinating images. I really do aspire to have a childlike curiosity about the world and that inspires me to try to capture it with my camera.

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 5:25 pm

  18. Happiest New Year wild child Ron!

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 5:39 pm

  19. Happy new year 🙂

    Like

    January 1, 2015 at 1:10 am

  20. Happy New Year and interesting travels Ron. I’ve enjoyed meeting you through your blog.
    I get your point about not crediting others work, but I do like to share things I see that others do that I really think deserve a wider audience. I thought when you re-blogged a post of someone elses, it automatically told you who made the original post. I always hope people go and have a look at the original too. I think I’d be happy for more people to re-blog me. 😉

    Like

    January 1, 2015 at 2:02 am

    • Reblogging is OK. I hope the seas are calm where you are.

      Liked by 1 person

      January 1, 2015 at 9:11 am

      • Yes, so far the weather has been pretty nice. We’re South of the Equator so it’s summer here now, but it seems to be the same most of the time to me since I’ve been here (starting in July).

        Like

        January 1, 2015 at 1:17 pm

  21. Happy New Years to you too, Ron! Safe travel and sharp eye!

    Like

    January 1, 2015 at 4:27 am

  22. Looking forward to seeing where you travel next. Your blogging output is amazing and yet you always find time to come by and like my posts. Thank you. All the best for 2015.

    Like

    January 1, 2015 at 4:38 am

  23. Jim Brennan

    Never lose the child inside. Happy New Year, Ron!

    Like

    January 1, 2015 at 11:22 am

  24. Reblogged this on My Blog.

    Like

    January 1, 2015 at 1:38 pm

  25. Happy New Year, Ron!

    Not too many people can do a reflective post that you’ve done here. Very well done. Looking forward to your new travels.

    Like

    January 1, 2015 at 2:05 pm

  26. Happy New Year, Ron!! I look forward to following you in 2015. Thanks for introducing me to the lovely world of water abstracts 😊.

    Like

    January 1, 2015 at 3:56 pm

  27. mk

    Happy New Year to you, Ron. I quite enjoyed your message, and I especially enjoyed the little ones in the light room. Best wishes for the new year.

    Like

    January 1, 2015 at 10:47 pm

  28. Malin H

    Very wise written, Ron. Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

    Happy and healthy 2015! Hugs!

    Like

    January 3, 2015 at 5:12 am

  29. It’s good to see you writing a little about your photography. I really enjoy your philosophy of life as expressed through your lens.

    Like

    January 4, 2015 at 12:28 am

    • Thank you Malcom, you have a very good observation there.

      Like

      January 4, 2015 at 1:32 pm

  30. Life happens and sometimes blogging gets put to the bottom of the pile…myself included! I find your work inspirational and will always visit when I can…Happy New Year Ron…I look forward to your photos from your adventures!

    Like

    January 6, 2015 at 10:43 am

  31. Happy New Year and happy travelling in 2015

    Like

    January 8, 2015 at 4:58 am

  32. pdlyons

    looking forward to a new year of enjoying your work and being envious of your travels. wishing you and all who you hold dear a most fortuitous new year. cheers!

    Like

    January 11, 2015 at 9:49 am

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

