Image

Ron Does SXSW

Skipping For Joy

Skipping For Joy

8 Black and White Street Photos in This Gallery

Yesterday, I had the good fortune to be on 6th street in Downtown Austin, TX during SXSW.  It took me half an hour to find a garage to park my car for only $15.  Beer usually $3 for a 16 ounce can was $5 for a 12 ounce can.  The place was packed.

Since last August I have seen a steady decline in viewers of this blog, despite adding followers and having many to start with.  Since the start of 2015, I published a lot of new travel photography, some of it from exotic locations like Hong Kong and Macau.  I wonder if it is worth the work.  If you like what I am doing, please visit the blog and view the thumbnails on the carousel instead of just leaving a like in the Reader.

47 responses

  1. I always love your pics Ron! Always try to scroll through them all!

    Like

    March 20, 2015 at 10:03 am

  2. Superb street photos… you are a master at it, Ron 🙂

    Like

    March 20, 2015 at 10:07 am

  3. I view each photo when visiting, your photography is always interesting. 😊

    Like

    March 20, 2015 at 11:02 am

  4. Ron, unfortunately, most of my followers do the same. Only few persons go to the gallery and see the pictures. Rest of all just “Like” the post in the Reader and go away. For sure to go and see is the time consuming procedure. This is why I follow and read only few more interesting to myself writing blogs. But with the photo blogs it is easier and do not take so much time to watch all the pictures and make some comments. Actually it is not really bother me when people behave like that because I am doing all the pictures and writing posts for my friends who I know for sure read and watch what I am doing. If anybody else enjoyed I am happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    March 20, 2015 at 11:08 am

  5. Good post Ron. I like Austin as well. Interesting place. I usually open the post and then hit like or reply.

    Like

    March 20, 2015 at 12:22 pm

  6. Yours is one of my favorite blogs, Ron. Your work is so varied and always shows me something new and interesting. I hope you can tell that I really do enjoy clicking over to the site. I hope you decide to continue. Pam

    Liked by 1 person

    March 20, 2015 at 1:53 pm

  7. Nice work. Always get the feeling I need to get out more when I see your photos!

    Like

    March 20, 2015 at 2:53 pm

  8. Wow…I was going to look at your pics…and got’content blocked by your organization”…will look at home :). I have been following SXSW via NPR’s TinyDesk Concert people…cool!!

    Like

    March 20, 2015 at 3:25 pm

    • My blog is blocked by some web filters for having “swimwear and lingerie”. There is no lingerie and only a few swimwear photos out of over 3000 images. Most swimwear may be found via the Hawaii menu button in the header.

      Liked by 1 person

      March 20, 2015 at 3:31 pm

  9. Nice study – it works so well in monochrome. Great work

    Like

    March 20, 2015 at 3:47 pm

  10. pdlyons

    the street, the girls and nikon & ron. great combination. sure was worth every penny of those 5.00 beers

    Like

    March 20, 2015 at 4:22 pm

  11. Austin does have its sights. I don’t know which I would be more uncomfortable in, the bikini or the shoes!

    Like

    March 20, 2015 at 5:11 pm

  12. I always enjoy your photos, Ron thanks for sharing so many views from around the world. 🙂 I recently found out views from mobile devices using the WP app on don’t count as page views in our stats counter… maybe this has something to do with your drop in viewers but not followers?

    Like

    March 20, 2015 at 9:12 pm

    • I don’t know what to say about the WP app except that it makes no sense for WP to do things that way. It’s damn hard to view photography on anything smaller than a tablet using a standard web browser.

      Like

      March 20, 2015 at 9:23 pm

  13. Roshan Clicks

    bro don’t be dishearten by less activity in your blog. Being a techie i cant say dont look at stats but then dont let stats take on you … 🙂 You rock man.

    Like

    March 21, 2015 at 3:13 am

    • Thank you. Friday was the best day in over a month. I must need more B&W.

      Liked by 1 person

      March 21, 2015 at 3:32 am

      • Roshan Clicks

        bro to be honest, u have fan like me who will search your post notification over email to find your blog post to quench the thirst of needing to see creative shots.

        cheer up bro … 🙂

        Like

        March 21, 2015 at 3:36 am

  14. WP is constantly changing what constitutes a visit and a view. At one point, they were the same. And, they change the formula on how they count. So, the stats have become a largely irrelevant metric.

    Like

    March 21, 2015 at 1:31 pm

    • They used to count carousel views as a view, but that may have changed.

      Like

      March 21, 2015 at 5:02 pm

  15. seems like it’s like pulling teeth since the start of the year for me too Ron, I wonder if it’s to do with WP changing things again or it’s just really that slooooow. Your work is always worth looking at. Excellent photos!

    Like

    March 21, 2015 at 4:01 pm

  16. I don’t do just ‘likes’. I really enjoy your work.

    Like

    March 23, 2015 at 12:43 pm

  17. I loved the girl in “Skipping for Joy” having her Sue Hecht moment! These are great, and you’re right, I don’t always open the gallery. Sometimes, it’s easy to miss that there’s more than one picture when I come across your stuff (and that of other photographers) in the reader. I’m glad you called it to my attention. I’ll try and slow down in future!

    Like

    March 24, 2015 at 10:01 am

  18. hey Ron, I read your post! it is a great deal of work to keep up a blog of this magnitude! yours is one of my favorite to visit, I never know what to expect and I’m never disappointed. I have learned much about taking photos of people since I began visiting. Of course you have to do what works for you but your work would be greatly missed if you decided it wasn’t worth the effort!!!

    Like

    March 27, 2015 at 11:43 am

  19. I do my blog for me, mostly, especially when I write, but of course I love that people actually look, read it. It is a mystery to me, what gets read, what doesn’t and how quickly some likes appear when we first post. I have no answers, for sure.

    Like

    March 27, 2015 at 6:12 pm

    • If a tree fell in the forest and nobody heard or saw it, did it fall? I publish to communicate so it is important to me that folks look. Interest in the SXSW series was very good.

      Liked by 1 person

      March 27, 2015 at 6:26 pm

      • OK, I understand that, I have a blog so people see my photos. I enjoy taking photos but don’t actually need them, don’t keep them more than a few years, except personal photos, same as my writing. it’s the act of doing for me, and every person who looks is a a much appreciated bonus. Each of us have our reasons, all valid for sure. To me my writing is more important, but photography is the draw. That is why I was on poetry sites for many years, though I no longer am. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        March 27, 2015 at 7:01 pm

  20. We all go through those dips by occasion so don’t worry. By the way you have a sharp eye for legs 🙂

    Like

    April 11, 2015 at 9:12 am

  21. Creative clothing choices…no doubt about it.

    Like

    April 11, 2015 at 11:39 am

What's on your mind? You can tell me about it here.

